Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

enter Serenity
2005-03-15 - 2:31 p.m.

Friday night, we had the formidable Angel of Death and her famous Bob over for party planning and general hanging out. We had a minor interruption when Chris Cunning called to talk to Alan (but Alan was out fetching steaks, mmm... steaks) so I handed the phone to Bob and Laura instead. Some GW leadership question. I'm sure he'll do fine.

The party should be a fun one. Now I just need to get off my duff and make my outfit. Oh the glorious plans for an amazing outfit... Meant to do that Sat, but music, napping and a date with my sweetie to see Robots happened instead. Meant to do it on Sunday, but we got distracted.

Alan and I added to our little family on Sunday...
-don't worry, no babies...
-didn't get a dog
-definitely not a cat
-already got a ton of fish, although we haven't spotted George yet in the pond warm up post Heron...
-no new furniture
-and if I got a stuffed animal, it wouldn't be Alan and I, now would it.

We got Scarlett and Rhett a sister. Enter Serenity, our new to us '99 red Ford Crown Vic that Alan gets to use for commuting. (Don't think for an instant that if the new car had been blue I wouldn't have named her Bonny, GWTW reference) Poor Rhett (the F-150 for those checking in late) just has too many miles on him for being so young and we want to keep him good for many events and Pennsics to come. So Rhett gets to languish in the garage until duty calls, which will be for Coronation for sure. Scarlett (my Explorer) continues getting me to work and smaller than an F-150 sized loads to events and weekends and stuff. Sweet Serenity (who we found with only 32K miles on her) will get Alan to and from work and to any weekend trips that don't require a truck worth of carrying capacity.

Serenity isn't anything too fancy, but she's a nice ride, which is what we were going for. Especially after I told Alan that I'm not paying insurance on a sports car. She was in our price range, comfy, drove well, in great condition, astonishingly low miles, and with nice new tires. Besides, there was no way Alan was going to commute in an economy car. We were actually looking at another car and combing it over like the most pickiest of buyers and then saw Serenity in a peripheral glance and it was love.
Shiney
She's only got an AM/FM Cassette radio for now, but we can upgrade that later. She also only has one plug/cigarette lighter, so some compromise will have to be settled on with any peripherals (cell phones charging, CD player, XM Radio, etc.

Now I just need to find some time and reason so I can get to drive her some...

But, yes, this means we have 3 1999 Fords for 2 drivers. Ah, the luxury of DINC.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next