Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

UofA weekend and three things...
2005-02-08 - 2:23 p.m.

Ymir is impending, so when does Beth Patterson decide to come to the DC Metro area? That's right, this weekend. I don't know if I'll be up to the Great Falls, VA show on Sunday night, but I think I can catch her at the House of Musical Traditions in Takoma Park, MD. w00t. I wonder if she'll have copies of her live album she promised in Nov.?

University was a hoot. I think both my classes went fairly well; What do I do with My Hair and Retainer 101. Now I'm trying to figure out if I want to commit to June UofA in Piney Creek, NC. And if I do, what building off of the hair class would work. I'm thinking more practical application. A class on three techniques such as how to wrap a head rail (turban), how to make a wimple and veil from two linen rectangles, and ... I dunno, what would folks like to learn that could be done in 20 mins or so? I liked the two classes I took, but I really hate it when someone in the class takes over the class, even if just a little. It really is rude to the instructor, even if you're "just trying to help". Other than that, there were lots of groovy folks to hang out with and chat with and stuff. I got some chilling time with some of my Sacred Stone peeps, even if not all of them.

That night we had the rocking party back at Maxie and Markie's place. Corby stayed home and watched the pups and slaved over the hot smoker like all day, I'm so sure. We had a ton of smoked turkey, delicious ribs, lots of bread, and sweets, oh and booze. We were kinda low on the non-starch veggies, but the caramel cheesecake more than made up for it. There was lots of chilling and crafting and teasing and picking on folks, but there was NO TONGUE INVOLVED. I promise, Balynar. :) There was the knitting and learning to knit crew, there was nalbinding and learning to nalbind crew, and then there was the lone embroiderer that we all gazed in awe at. Oh, and wonderful Domenico and others worked like house elves on the dishes, which is yeoman's work if you've ever seen a kitchen in the aftermath of a Corby cyclone. It was great to have all sorts of folks hanging out together, we almost reached critical mass for the new house. But there was still more room, could have fit more people...

Sunday, I boogied on out of there after folks started to arrive for fighter practice. Didn't want to get parked in. I called Shannon when I hit 66 to see if she'd be up for a visit. I was greeted in the driveway by Zephyr so I played with her and howled a bit before knocking on the door. I got to take an extended break there and meet little Andrew and visit with Shannon and Regan. Naturally I would pick the one time to drop by that Jason had decided he needed to escape the house. pooh. But the new garage is awesome, Regan was exceptionally cute and definitely 2 and Shannon showed me where Kevin lives (Regan's little finger, as if you didn't know...)
And even better, little Andrew loves me. I could just be a heat source with a comforting voice, I dunno, but he seemed to quiet when I'd hold him or rock him. Cute little snuggler that he is. I didn't get to see the blankie I made in action because he had anointed it earlier and it was in the wash. such is life.
When it was time for me to finally head home Regan declared that they were coming to my house. It was so cute. I had to tell her that she couldn't come to my house because she needed to be home when Daddy got home. But after Dad's back is fixed, she and the rest of the Smiths are welcome to visit any time.

All in all it was a great weekend, even if I was missing my sweetie. He had to stay home and work on work documents over the weekend, boring. But me taking the projector for my class did ensure that he couldn't spend the entire weekend watching B5 without me. ;)



Oh, and kinda late to the game, but here you go....
Baaaaa.....

Three names you go by
1. Jen/Gen
2. Jawn-veev (only by Bera, and I mean it!)
3. PitBoss

Three screen names you have had
1. genvieve
2. some permeation of first initial and last name
3. monkeygrrl

Three things you like about yourself
1. my amazing quick-grow hair
2. my affinity for string, if not a talent for
3. that everyone loves me. (if you don't, you just don't know me.)

Three things you don't like about yourself
1. about 40 pounds
2. stupid spot in obvious place to me
3. my reaction to frustration

Three parts of your heritage
1. German
2. Norwegian
3. Southern Country mutt (I'm a redneck once removed)

Three things that scare you
1. those stupid camel crickets
2. being forgettable
3. G.W. Bush

Three of your everyday essentials
1. Diet Coke
2. Zyrtec
3. Laughter

Three things you are wearing right now
1. wedding and engagement rings
2. black
3. a smile

Three of your new favorite bands or musical artists (at the moment)
1. Linkin Park
2. Evanescence
3. Lost Cause :)

Three of your favorite songs (at the moment)
1. Numb - Linkin Park
2. My Immortal - Evanescence
3. Banks of the Lee

Three new things you want to try in the next 12 months
1. losing weight (who am I kidding)
2. sprang
3. relaxing

Three things you want in a relationship
1. Support
2. Adoration
3. Alan

Two truths and a lie
1. I love to play with others' hair.
2. I'm never afraid to suck at something new.
3. I'm blonde at heart, if no longer at root.

Three physical things about the opposite sex that appeal to you
1. built biceps
2. broad shoulders
3. loving arms

Three things you just can't do
1. resist cuteness, ladybugs and IKEA
2. understand my sister
3. Tell people when they are being idiots

Three of your favorite hobbies
1. String (hair, nalbinding, knitting, weaving, fingerloop braiding, lucet, spoon tossing, sewing...)
2. Sailing (when oh when ..)
3. reading trashy romance novels

Three things you want to do really badly right now
1. Have an alcoholic drink and red beans and rice (Happy Mardi Gras/Fat Tuesday)
2. go shopping
3. take a nap

Three careers you're considering
1. Philanthropist (hmm... need more money)
2. Publications Design (need training)
3. Spanish Peacock product tester

Three places you want to go on vacation
1. England
2. North American road trip
3. Bermuda

Three kids' names
1. Flopsy
2. Mopsy
3. Cottontail (Kids? You gotta be kidding me!)

Three things you want to do before you die
1. Travel the world
2. Be crazy Great Aunt Jen
3. Have a birthday party

Three ways I am stereotypically a boy
1. I love a good action movie; car chases, fights, escapes, etc.
2. I love my truck and Tim Allen, ohhh ohh ohh...
3. I can do it myself (call maintenance to hang a picture in an office, puhleeze!)

Three ways I am stereotypically a chick
1. Pink; love it, live it
2. That high-pitched noise I make when something cute/new/shiney comes to my attention
3. I cry at the drop of a hat, especially sappy commercials, sad movies and Extreme Home Makeover



<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next