Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

cold in a snap
2005-01-19 - 12:39 p.m.

Last week, the crazy forsythia hedges at work started to bloom.  While the little yellow flowers were cute I bet they are screaming in agony now.  That is, if plants could scream.  I am just fine though.  I looked out my boss's window to see a light blanket of snow starting to cover the grounds.  It's really pretty.  Mind you I'd rather be home with a fire crackling in the fireplace and a mug of hot cocoa.  Cest la vie.  I wonder if it will stop at the 1-2 inches they claim, or if it'll keep on going.  I barely need a excuse to telework, just a little bit more snow, please!  I can check classes and answer questions at home, really.

Friday night we had Corby and Thjora and Roland and Theo over for sushi and pizza.  Way more pizza came than we ever intended to eat, but it was excellent for hurried lunches and lazy breakfasts the next couple of days.  So Corby had pizza, Roland had chinese, Alan, Thjora and I split most of the sushi while Theo noshed on rice and the strangely compelling Papa John's Hawaiian BBQ Chicken pizza.  It really was pretty tasty, if odd.  I showed off my green room, there was woodworking plans made over the bar in the basement, and there was Battlestar Galactica on the tube.  Poor Corby had been going through TV withdrawal, so he was planted in front of the TV much of the time.  Saturday brought the wood monkeys collecting materials and playing in the shop.  The Corby-monkey went to play in Roland's basement to fix a sword.  This monkey was in the kitchen making 2 cheese tarts (grated 12 cups of cheese, my god) and a batch of gingerbread cookies.  ohhh... my aching arms.  Even the words sound achy: grating and kneading

Saturday night we left Corby to watch the pups and we escaped off to Elizabethan Murder Mystery Land, aka: Carla's house.  Vic did an amazing job arranging the murder of poor Fanny and gave everyone something to talk about all night.  Poisoned cheese pies, bee stings, missing swords, mysterious cloaked women, extra meat for cooking at the Cat's Perch Inn, excessive amounts of rats and a Ratcatcher whose wardrobe keeps improving...  very mysterious.  It was an absolute hoot.  And the food was excellent, even if too much of it came home.  But that's okay.  I sent a the extra cheese tart home with Thjora for guests on Monday night, and have the remains of a batch of gingerbread ready to give to my former co-worker, Mac.

Sunday I was too tired to make anything for breakfast.  Folks were on their own, I know, bad hostess.  I had cold strangely compelling pizza.  Then Corby and I watched way too much TLC.  Hours and hours on end...  It was so relaxing...  Alan and Thjora were very productive treating the redwood planks and constructing a bar extension for the basement.  We got the pups and the pup owners on their way home after a lunch break.  Alan and I retreated to the basement for on Overhaulin' mini-marathon and movies the rest of the night.  sweet!

Monday was pretty much a redux of Sunday.  Lots of bumming around.  Poor Alan had to go into work at 6pm, so I did make us an early dinner at 4:30 and then was actually kinda productive for the rest of the night.  I did some weaving, on a already warped loom, now that looms and supplies are within easy reach.  I also finished up some half done knitting nothing projects and did a bit more organizing here and there.  I also put my Halcyon "Yarn Store in a Box" in a big binder last night so one can easily flip through and touch test the various glorious types of string.  I do think I need to rearrange the way they originally came stacked.  Silks should ideally be grouped, as should cottons. Just another little OCD project waiting in the wings.  I'm also testing out a way to cover the fabric closet shelves, which means that now I'm thinking of pulling all the fabric off the shelves and sorting through it, culling the herd, and reorganizing it on the shelves.  wee....

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next