Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

IKEA to the rescue!
2005-01-14 - 2:47 p.m.

So, I called in sick yesterday because the full force of Sunday's sinus blap came back in on me. Ugh. I am still in hopes that it was a last gasp getting it out of my system. I emailed in sick, checked some work stuff for about 2 hours and then took more codeine-coff-syrup-wonder-drug and went back to bed. I set the alarm for 12:30pm, but apparently I turned that off and went right back to sleep until 1:30.

On a whim I called the CP-IKEA to check on the stock for item 200.755.94 and lo and behold, the database said it was in stock. Having had this problem before I then call the direct line to the info desk in the self-serve area to ask them to physically check the shelf for this item. They came back and said it was there. Finally! So, I get some lunch, work for another hour, and head to IKEA to procure the lovely perfect bedside table for the Green String Room.

Do you ever get that moment of doubt that perhaps the wonderful thing you waited for, obsessed about, etc. might not actually be what you want? I did. I looked at the color swatch like 5 times to be sure. I made sure to get a box in pristine condition to ensure that there are no dings in the product. And I left IKEA after only 20 minutes and only 2 products, and checked out quickly using the self-checkout lane. w00t!

I got home, coughed up a lung, blew my nose, and assembled the bedside table and installed it in all its glory in the green room.
Perfect height! Perfect color! Perfect dimensions for the space!
Ah... I just sat and looked at it for a while. I really wish our camera was working. I guess folks will just have to come and visit. Or I might hijack Alan's phone for a mini-pic.

Cosette will be so proud. Only one half full box left. And I even purged a random box in the Master Bedroom closet, some old clothes and shoes from the guest room closets and again, more useless paper and cardboard got recycled on Thursday morning. Montgomery County randomly gifted the neighborhood with these 5 ft tall paper and cardboard recycling containers so we don't need to bag up papers anymore. We of course filled it up (60 gal capacity) on its first outing and even then had more items leaning against it by the curb.

The sewing room is naturally still a wreck, but I think that is just part of its nature. Remnants of projects on the floor, bags of scraps lurking in corners, chest of unfinished projects, and a pile of random stuff on half of the cutting table. Damn horizontal surfaces are magnets for piles. But at least I can close the door and no one will know except Alan and I, oh and my readers. curses... I did try making a quick pattern for the body of the jacket which seems to be okay, but adding sleeves will definitely let me know if I got it right. Of course this only adds to the remnants on the floor, but there you go.

Why do my faculty wait until today to ask for help on classes that are visible to students on Monday? stupid monkeys.




Very sad to hear about Talia, but most of us knew it was only a matter of time. I already miss seeing her and Minimal at plays. My heart goes out to those who knew her better, and grieve for her more.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next