Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

12th Night happenings and IKEA frustrations
2005-01-12 - 5:01 p.m.

Twelfth Night was lovely.  Especially after the gift of booze from the Manya...  Oh, and all the fabulous snippets of company.  It is true that it is hard to get quality time with anyone at such a large event. 

Although I've realized that I need to add hairnets and hairspray to my cool shit box of accessories and hair adornment stuff.  Who'd have thought that no one at 12th Night had hairspray that I found.  I guess I was the only moron attempting something new and complicated on site in the ladies room.  My many thanks go out to Elspet who advised and did her best to find materials for me to work with.  While the results were less than ideal, I think the overall theory was sound and I hope to try it for an early 15th cent event/outfit in the future.  I think rats would help too. 

But I must say, it was amusing those who asked about my hat.  Fewer than I would have though noticed that it was on sideways.  hee hee

I was very glad to see the Deirdre get her Pelican.  For those who don't know her, she can be very fearsome at first, but fun once you get to know her.  I'll admit to being intimidated by her on initial introduction.  Of course a large part of the fear is really respect for all her knowledge and works and all that she is.  Not someone you'd want to gaff your newbie stupid self in front of tho.  But she is definitely a welcome member to the order. 

I am sad that we missed Johanna's elevation to the Order.  She is such a cool lady; wise beyond her years, generous beyond her means, and fun at parties.  I am glad we got to help a small bit in the vigil, although I don't think I'd have placed children's activities right by the solemn vigil.  Eh, live and learn.  The crying child's peeking leg under the tent wall during our visit was only partially distracting.  Blissfully Alan's sober words held more weight and attention. ;)  I hope that somewhere there are pictures of the elevation to share, and I hope it was all Johanna could have wished for.

I have continued on my path of creating the 2nd Guest Room/ String Room/ Green Room and making it a peaceful, clutter free space.  I've made the molehill to more of an ant hill now, and a small stack of empty boxes.  Whodda thunk?  Anyone need empty boxes?  If not, they'll be recycled tomorrow.  I even condensed 3 boxes in the guest room closet to 2, and I've back filed a bunch of crazy papers/bills/random information.  I'm sure I found 2 year old watchlists and crap.  I also moved my brain candy reading collection to the little green bookcase, to make room for more dignified items in the living room.  Now I just have a small line of half filled small boxes of "extra stuff I want to keep, but I'm not sure where" against one wall and the rest of the room is ready to go. 

Er, that is ready to go except for the bedside table in a particular color that I've been fighting with IKEA about.  How is it that White Marsh and Woodbridge have it, but College Park has been having inventory problems so that I've now got the item # memorized and have been calling the inventory check system for over a week on?  First the inventory computer said there were 24 in stock, but none on the shelf.  So they were supposed to run an inventory and find the 24, but I think it was an inventory error, cause now they still say out of stock, even tho Monday they said they had a shipment coming in with them...  huff huff   Sigh.  I swear, I'd order it online if that color option was offered online, but no, I'm persnickety.  At least we'll be near Whitemarsh on Saturday on the way to Carla's, so I might just have to make a quick (yeah right!) stop by there to pick it up. 

Saturday is Bandes' Yule.  I get to make two herb cheese tarts, and if I have time, a batch of gingerbread cookies on Saturday morning.  I'd also like to make a new jacket, but realism is sinking in that I'm spending too much time purging, thus leaving less time to be creative.  Who knows what will actually be accomplished.  It's a mystery...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next