Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

the purge bug...
2005-01-07 - 4:14 p.m.

So, I had been meaning to update after the holidays, but I got sucked into Firefly and Bab 5 episodes on the big screen. We've pretty much been bums between Christmas and New Years'. But let me tell you, inspiration and rejuvenation hit after the party on New Year's Eve.

See, among the fine party-goers were:


These folks inspire creativity. There was New Years' Morning perusal of the IKEA catalog. There was discussion of no unused rooms in new house. There was mentioning of the useless stuff we keep because we are too lazy to toss is out. Miscellaneous Mac parts in Corby's case, old papers in mine. So, when Alan and I get home, the brain starts ticking about the 2nd guest room in our house. It had a fish tank, rocking chair, chest of SCA and extra clothes, and garb in the closet. And just enough room for the aerobed on the floor.
Oh, I forgot to mention the pile of boxes. No let's be honest, a mountain of boxes inhabited the corner.

Well, this is no more. The fish tank has been moved (quite some time ago) to the basement. (The fish really love the projector, and blub for sci fi movies.) We went to IKEA and procured a pretty comfy sofa bed (no bars in your backs, I promise), shelving and storage containers (for the string collection), decorations and new curtains, etc. I have to say when you stand in the doorway, the room looks pretty darn cool. If our camera was working, I'd share.

But most importantly, and spurned on by a) the new design, and b) threat of a Cosette visit, I have been slowly going through the mountain of boxes. I should mention that these boxes have mostly been moved from the old house 2 years ago, and remained untouched. I took out a dead-body sized bag of trash on Thursday morning. We have a big box of embarrassing stuff for Lochmart, and a large overflowing box of items to donate to Goodwill/AmVets/pick a charity. I have wheedled down the mountain to a mole hill, and I'm still going. With any luck it will be inhabitable soon by guests, and give me a dedicated string room. hee hee hee... So, I've been kinda focused, but I tell you, the results are worth it. If only I could stop finding more and more boxes shoved in various closets...

Christmas was lovely, but not earth shattering. I knit myself half a scarf (had to procure more string upon return to finish), we got some reading done, hung out with Alan's mom and 2 of 3 brothers, and got to shovel/push snow out of the way to get the rented Taurus out of the long sloped driveway. It was very quiet and peaceful. I must say though that I have been spoiled. Northern cooking just can't compare to a typical Southern Christmas meal. The food was adequate (Alan's mom professes to no great skill in the kitchen) but it lacked the warmth, salt, fat, and overwhelming stick to your ribs contentedness of a good southern meal. I think one of these days I need to treat them to one good southern meal, but being no proficient in the kitchen myself, I'll have to plan in advance. I missed ham, buttery mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans, and my mom's cranberry cake with cream sauce, almost as much as I missed my family. Oh, heck, let's be honest, I missed the food more than my family. :) I also didn't get around to making sandbakels this year. I don't think I have time tonight, or I'd make them for 12th Night.

Apparently I also harbor an allergic reaction to something in Alan's mom's house. Really none of the Smith residences (ours aside) is Gen friendly. His older brother has 2 cats, his younger brother likes to burn scented candles, and some mutant strain of dust-mold attacks me on the Cape. We've never been to the eldest brother's house, but tales of the menagerie keep me at bay. So they must all assume I am a great big continuous sneeze-fest since that's how they see me. At least the drugs contribute to the laid back nature of the vacation. sigh.

Oh well, enough bitching about allergens and tasteless food. Looking forward to seeing many of you tomorrow. I made nothing new, so I'll be wearing something old, non-japanese.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next