Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

thoughts
2004-11-15 - 1:16 p.m.

The sky outside today is bright, crisp Oldcastle Blue.

Our Gyrth pond irises, bright and smiley yellow, overgrown and thriving, have always had a special springtime place in my heart. And now even more so.

If anyone needs crash space for Tuesday night that is cat-free, just let me know. A call should have gone out on the OC list, but just in case anyone else needs the space, Alan and I would welcome you into our home.

Gyrth loved women's hair in braids, especially his fine Duchess's. A single french braid, two pigtail braids, a crown of braid encircling one's head, he loved braids, and told me so. As much as I adore Mel, I'd braid her hair more for his smiles than her comfort. I hope she'll forgive me. But the offer of semi-nimble fingers is always open.

I always loved the irony of this man of simple and basic tastes married to an excellent and accomplished cook. Their lovely son is an fine combination of them, with her talent and dedication in the kitchen, and his father's simple tastes. I loved having them over for parties so that Mel had the opportunity to make some more exotic foods, and we made sure there was something to the gentlemen's tastes. Mel and Michael, you are welcome over anytime.

Spend all your time waiting for that second chance
For the break that will make it ok
There's always some reason to feel �not good enough�
And it's hard at the end of the day
I need some distraction, oh beautiful release
Memories seep from my veins
They may be empty and weightless, and maybe
I'll find some peace tonight

In the arms of an Angel, fly away from here
From this dark, cold hotel room, and the endlessness that you fear
You are pulled from the wreckage of your silent reverie
You're in the arms of an Angel; may you find some comfort here...

Arms of the Angel, Sarah McLachlan

Gyrth once told me that he has no talent, but that he and Mel are surrounded by lovely talented people and he never quite understood why they choose to hang out with him. I laughed, because to me the attraction and magnetism was so obvious. Someone who was so honest with others, and appreciative of them, is bound to attract admirers. Someone who is so funny, bright and amazingly witty, is like flame to the moth-like peoples who lack such charms, and even for those lucky few who share them. It really is no mystery why Gyrth, Mel and Michael are loved.

Here's to you big guy...

Magic Kingdom in the Sky by DaVinci's Notebook

All my life I have been searching for the fabeled promised land
With my sisters and my brothers we shall walk there hand in hand
Through the trials and tribulations and the devil's cruel temptations
I know that we will all get there one day

After years and years of wandering o'er the kingdom we shall find
and the doors may not be open, but we'll gather in the line
And our hearts will swell with pride the day those gates swing open wide
and we take a walk down Main Street USA
..
Oh that Magic Kingdom in the Sky
We will all be there together, by and by
We will all drink from the fountain
And go riding on Space Mountain
When we reach that Magic Kingdom in the Sky

Where Mother Minnie, Father Dopey, and Saint Tinkerbell abide
There'll be no more cares or sorrows on that heavenly Tea Cup Ride
I will lay down all my fears
When I put on those big black ears
And join the choir to sing in harmony

We will sing the songs of aimless souls
Who once had gone astray
Who were lost but now are found
in the electric light parade
Singing Hakuna Matata,
Growing Mouseketeer stigmata
In the only club that's made for you and me

Oh that Magic Kingdom in the Sky
We will all be there together, by and by
All God's children shall be free in
Pirates of the Caribbean
When we reach that Magic Kingdom in the Sky

Well the meekest and the poorest their inheritance shall see
And a zillion Japanese tourists all will join the jamboyree
They will ride that holy monorail into sweet providence
When they know that their redeemer is a mouse in short red pants

Won't you take me to Orlando where the sun is shining bright
Where the angels are clean shaven and the people snowy white
Where your problems all are hidden and unhappiness forbidden
You'll find salvation for a modest fee...

Climb into my Winnebago and if you help with the gas
Then we maybe can finnagle you a five or six day pass
May your afterlife be blessed, just American Express it
Let Mastercard and Visa set you free

Oh that Magic Kingdom in the Sky
We will all be there together, by and by
All religions may be practiced there
Except for Southern Baptists
When we reach that Magic Kingdom in the Sky

Oh that Magic Kingdom in the Sky
Manufactured by that Uncle Walter guy
We'll give thanks to that old geezer
And we'll keep him in the freezer
When we reach that Magic Kingdom in the
..reach that Magic Kingdom in the
..reach that Magic Kingdom in the Sky

I am more sorry than words can say that I never made the time to visit him after his surgery. I have no good excuse. Like everyone else, I assumed there was plenty of time.
I hope, selfishly, that when you are done chatting with Chaucer, comparing notes with DaVinci, and riding Space Mountain again and again, that you'll forgive me.


<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next