Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

pampering
2003-11-24 - 10:14 p.m.

Wednesday I got glasses. I know, cry me a river. I managed to eek through the first 22 years of life without them, and the last 6 with only using them at PC. Getting used to the glasses full time has been interesting. And I gotta say that the eye doctor is the scariest guy ever. Don't get me wrong, he seemed nice and all, but dude, it's messing with your eyes! And Mel and Meng can attest to my flinchiness. I did find out that I am more flinchy with my good eye, which I guess is not so surprising.

Thursday night was a lovely dinner at Outback with Roland and Theo and my sweetie. I also got presents; Italian craft book, Lies My Teacher told Me, and Tori videos. Yay, presents!

Friday was luxurious. I took the day off and slept a little late and took a half spa day. Ahhhh... I got a manicure, pedicure and hour long swedish massage. It was lovely. I'm definitely going back to Paula again. And the check from Alan's Mom for my b'day pretty much covered it, so it was more like her treating me than me being self-ish, right?

After a gift from my sweetie of Eddie! (Glorious, Dressed to Kill, and Circle), we packed the truck for the event and headed on down to Marinus. The first part of the drive was 2+ hours to get to Fredericksburg, luckily it was smooth sailing from there on down. We got routed to the Blackbear's place for dinner and arrived around 8:30pm. We got treated to salad, steaks, and asparagus-yum! Then we boogied on to visit Cait at the Ninja-Flat. We were a small but happy party and she and the minivan samurai have a lovely home with fascinating stuff on the walls.

Saturday dawned warm and lovely and we set off to the event, following the bad acorn directions, and had an excellent day. I got bonding time with the Brigit, and chatting with several other cool folks. There were lots of neat things in the A&S area, from cool glass beads to woven twill, to hand-spun hand-dyed wool. Rosine and Arn seemed relieved to be done with their long term as Baron and Baroness. I'm sure it carried equal parts of sweet and bittersweet moments, and now they get to start a new chapter with a new adventure. Otto and Margret will undoubtedly do a good job. They bring new fire to the barony and unique talents to share with her people. They both looked radiant in black, gold and red Tudor outfits. I was glad to witness Rhiannon's apprenticing, which will be a new and exciting journey for her. And the lemon curd was yummy.

After the yummy feast, I did a little clean up in the kitchen and bolted when my sweetie had the truck packed. We scurried back to the ninja flat and watched some TLC decorating shows and fell asleep on the couch, and eventually retired to bed from a wonderful sunshiny day.

Sunday was had lazy bagels with cream cheese and salmon with Cait before dashing off to the Bbear's place to meet up with folks for sushi for lunch. We got to meet Janine's cat, Tom, and made our way out to VA Beach for Sushi goodness at a recommended (and apparently only one of several open on Sunday) place. Excellent Sashimi dinner, Unagi rolls, trading with other folks for tastes of the dragon roll, etc. There was even a football game on for the cat to watch between pieces of conversation with great friends. The minivan samurai even made it back from ninja camp in time to join us. This got us out of the area a bit late, but we made a lengthy stop in Richmond to drop off our areo-bed for the random guests expected at Maxi's place this weekend. We also got to see more pics of the interesting new place.

And now I sit with a Seraphina original blue and fuzzy hat and scarf set from my Bera-bera, pondering the impending turkey day. My folks will be flying in on Wed night and then we four fly out to Cape Cod on Thurs morning for turkey and the fixin's with Alan's family. It should be fun, if I can just kick this cold-like thing that tried to set in last night...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next