Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

the eyes have it
2003-11-18 - 1:07 p.m.

Wendy? Mel? Make sure you are sitting down...

I warned you...

I made banana-nut bread last night. Cosette mentioned that the very ripe bananas on the top of the fridge were just right for banana bread, but I bemoaned not having a recipe. (Yeah, I know it was just laziness, the internet probably has 3,476 recipes for banana bread alone.) But then I spied a recipe for it on the Bisquick box.

Can I just say that Bisquick was obviously made for folks like me. I dislike to cook, but those quick and easy recipes on the box that use ingredients that you might actually have around the house are great. Sad, but true.

So, with Bisquick and recipe in hand, and a quick trip by the grocery store on the way home from work to procure things like eggs and a loaf pan, I went to work. Had just enough bananas, pulled out all the ingredients, and made the banana bread before dinner last night. And I must say, it's no gourmet, but it's not half bad. Alan willingly ate a whole warm slice last night without gagging and I had a piece with lunch today. w00t! I made banana bread. Now this would be much cooler if I actually liked bananas and their flavoring. Maybe I'll bring some into work.

But I did notice at the grocery store the most obvious sign of the changing season. Christmas decorations? Turkey basters? nope. Clementines. Those sweet little oranges, easy to peel, quick to eat. To me they usher in the holiday seasons like nothing else. Had one with breakfast and one with lunch already. yum! Perhaps it is a reaction to the candy overdose of Halloween, but fruit has tasted really good lately.

This weekend we were graced with the company of Mike and Cosette to work in the shop, and Jeff on his way to some historical miniature convention in Baltimore. We were invited to a lovely dinner on Friday night at That's Amore (love those desserts!) with a large group. I just loved walking into the Italian restaurant as part of the Toscano party. Yeah, Toscanos! Don't screw up their food or their break your legs and fit you with cement shoes... or something.

Saturday morning dawned early and started with a quick breakfast for Jeff before getting him on the road to his thing, and yummy turkey bacon, scrambled eggs, etc for the rest of us. Instead of curling back up for more sleep, which was tempting I assure you, I set to work in the sweat shop (aka sewing room) for bags for the single-arsed benches the rest were finishing up in the wood shop (aka garage.) After progressing through a few design changes on the bags, I think we came up with some pretty cool toting mechanisms for the benches. I even made little buttoned pockets for the pins that hold the benches together so no hunting in the bottom of the bag for them. I think I finally got the design nigh perfect for the last two, except that I forgot to reinforce the shoulder strap, but it should be okay.

Saturday was rounded off Jeff bringing Craig back to our place to join us for dinner at the DuClaw Brewery and a showing of Master and Commander at the Muvico. Great flick by the way. I loved it. Of course now I want to go sailing again and it is too darn cold. sigh.

Sunday I obviously made up for the productivity of Sat with concentrated laziness. Aside from breakfast of french toast and sausages and picking up the guest rooms I napped on the couch and watched TV. I thought about doing more work in the sewing room, but inspiration failed me. She is such a fickle muse.


So today I have an appointment with an eye doctor. I am bad. I haven't had my eyes checked since my last year in school. I only wear glasses at the computer at the moment and probably should wear them when reading, but I don't. I'm fairly certain that my Rx has changed, I was just too lazy to get my eyes looked at.

So, why now? Why, after all these years do I feel the need to get my eyes looked at? Simple. I've got to renew my driver's lisence and they require a vision test. Considering that last time I had to do this, when I changed from a NC to a MD DL, I just eeked out on the vision test since both eyes together are okay, but just my left by itself and I'll hit a road sign. Okay, not that bad, I'd miss the road sign, but I'd have no idea what it said.

So, I'm off to the eye doc, and most likely lenscrafters afterwards for new glasses. Just a guess. At least it is at a mall and I can go shopping for other stuff while I wait. yay, consumerism!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next