Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

most everyone's mad here
2003-11-11 - 3:45 p.m.

So, I got to thinking about why I chose to glorify in my own generosity in my last post. Part of it sounded arrogant. Part of me thinks that by announcing my donations that I'm playing hell with Karma. I can just see Karma now... She was good, but then she basked in its glow. Heck, I dunno. Let's give her 5 free minutes on her next parking meter instead of 20.

Then I got to thinking more. If I hadn't bothered with the last post then you, my faithful readers quit laughing already, wouldn't know that I cared about those charities. I care about the AMVETS, not just because they take my old stuff, but because they support those who have risked health and happiness to defend our fair country. They should be honored for what they do, and if my small donation helps in the least, then I'm glad. I care about Habitat for Humanity, not just because they employ my sister, but because they aren't just another handout to the disadvantaged, they help folks help themselves. It would have been easier to call for a large trash pick up and place that stuff on the curb, but I knew it would be put to a good use in their capable hands. I care about Locks of Love because it gives me a warm fuzzy inside to know that getting rid of my hair in large chunks will help some child live a more normal life. I have been blessed with hair that grows fairly well and quickly, and I feel I should share that blessing with others. Soon my hair will be all gray and I won't be able to.

I guess it is just part of the sharing that happens in this weird little online community. It's not just your day to day doings, but a small window into a room in your life, and some of what's important to you. It's how we can find out Kevin and Leofwynne's stances on gun control, for example.

skip gun control stance...

I have to confess that I agree with the ladies on this one. I'd like to view it more compartmentalized. You don't have to have a license to own a car, motorcycle, the knowledge of a speech pathologist, or any other potentially dangerous object. You do have to have a license to operate those particular objects though. However, regulation of the afore mentioned items is already in place. If the police catch you driving without a license, or lisence plates, you get penalized. Practicing without a license gets you the same consuquences. By having the license it proves some modicum of knowledge on how to use the item in question.

So essentially, I'm (we're) not against anyone owning a gun. But I think we are against anyone owning a gun who does not know how to use it properly and safely. Since there is no way to check that the person operating the gun is licensed, it's not too far a stretch to get guns licensed upon purchase. Kevin uses the words right and privilege. I think we all have the right to own cars, motorcycles, knowledge, guns, etc. However, it is a privilege to be able to show that you can operate them in a safe manner.

I think Leofwynne hit the nail on the head by pulling the phrase "trained to arms is the proper... defence of a free State." I think this also proves that the Constitution and other governing documents were meant to be living documents. At one point in our nation's history it was assumed that every boy and man knew how to operate a gun. It was required for survival for the most part. At one point in our nation's history blacks and women were not allowed to vote. But thanks to ammendments, these previously outdated statements can be corrected. I do not think it can be assumed now that all boys and men know how to safely operate guns. The gun accidents on record prove this. And this is also why the NRA can be a good organization, because they teach proper firearm handling. I think one day I might want to own a gun for target practice and possibly self defense. But I can assure you that I would have no problem taking a training and showing that I knew how to use it.

The statement guns don't kill people, people do is very true. And that is why I'd be more than willing to support keeping guns out of the hands of people who would use them stupidly, or for a criminal purpose.


ahem...

sorry...

So, I had a great weekend.

I think the Un-birthday party was a success. I had a fun time shopping for food and toys ahead of time with the Blackbear. He totally realized my impulsive shopping habits. I bought a DVD player. I went to Costco for party food and bought a DVD player. (I also bought an extra copy of the first Harry Potter movie. I already opened it so I can't return it, reason: stupidity... If anyone wants it, let me know. Free to a good home.) You see, our previous DVD player's power supply had issues and quit working before Pennsic. We let it sit and try turning it on in two more weeks seeing if it would reset itself, upon recommendation of the company. No go. Anyone needs a KLH DVD player for parts? Free to a good home. So, we thought we'd be smart and compare prices and brands and get an entire new home theater system with receiver, speakers, the whole nine yards. And here we were in Nov., 3 or more months later, and no working DVD player. Just to prove that I don't play computer or playstation-y games, it didn't even occur to me to watch DVDs on one of the laptops. Not even a thought. I just quit buying DVDs and left the ones I had bought in their wrapping until the time I'd be able to see them. But now we have a DVD player that can be moved to the bedroom when (snort! if) we get the new home theater system. We've already watched the Fifth Element, Finding Nemo, and the Emporer's New Groove. Best $70 I ever spent.

Oh, but back to the party. I have left over chocolate cake. I have left over sandwich spirals, mini-quiches, chicken egg rolls, and cream puffs. But it looked like folks enjoyed everything. I had a Mad Hatter theme, so everyone had to wear a hat, at least for a little while. Rags even wore the felt "Cat in the Hat" hat for a bit. Many thanks to Kirsten for bringing extras. Wendy got me the best Un-birthday present-we got to watch the lunar eclispe. And then I made sure that everyone got their own Un-birthday presents (except, Chris, Nancy and the girls who left under my radar) and folks seemed to have a good time with them. Gyrth even chose the bag with the dashboard hula dancer. I swear it was serendipitous that it ended up in his hands.

Okay, I had a great time, and I'm just glad my friends humor me and my stupid ideas. Thanks to those who could make it and put up with me. We missed those who had other obligations. We especially missed Tonwen and Roland since their birthdays were today and yesterday respectively.

Amid the other bustle of the weekend was a random visit from Brigit and Rosine on their way to and from Pennsic. Always lovely company. We even got one of our windows painted in a Frank Lloyd Wright style thanks to the Brigit's boundless energy. It looks gorgeous.

Sunday I was a complete bum. Aside from brunch of pancakes, bacon and burnt sausages, I spent most of the day curled up on the floor napping with my bum being warmed by the fire, or sitting in the comfy chair vegging out and watching TV.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next