Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

1 wedding and a funeral...
2003-10-01 - 2:12 p.m.

No Knight of the Heart for me, but I had a good weekend just the same. Glad you all had a good time at the Pas.

Instead I went to Craig and Francis's wedding in Vinton VA on Saturday. Craig and Francis are also known as Edwin and Giovanna/Orlando from Black Diamond. She looked stunning in 14th cent red velvet cotehardie with white silk tippets and white flowers in her hair. You can see pictures from the wedding reception here, thanks to Corby. There is a particularly vile one of Vic and I at the end. The food was lovely thanks to the talented Adriana Broussard. It was a great time and wound down just in time to escape to the truck before the rain hit. I ended up changing out of my garb in the driver's seat of Scarlett since it would have been damper to try to gather everything and run to the cottage to change. Knowing me I would have dropped something vital in a mud puddle anyway. Besides, I steamed up the windows so bad trying to get this and that undone that no one who was foolish enough to stand in the rain could have seen anything anyway.


Then I was off to Greensboro that night. I arrived at the hotel my folks like to use when we come to town now around 9:30pm. They had just had a cancellation for a room so I was golden. While I had packed crafts and reading material, instead I got in touch with my best friend from High School, who had recently moved back to the area. She was just heading out to go drinking at a bar downtown, so they picked me up and we hung out and had a blast at a couple of bars in downtown GSO. There has apparently been a downtown revival where they are making it nicer and making the bars worth going to. This is pretty cool, and while we hadn't planned to stay out so late, 2am came and I was crawling back to my hotel bed.

Sunday morning I slept in late and watched HBO and the weather channel and had a light breakfast from the continental buffett downstairs. I then went to lunch with Brooke (best friend from HS) and another close friend from my swimming days, David. I got to see her nifty house and her Saint Bernard, Sadie, and we had a great lunch outside enjoying the cool breeze and catching up. Ah, nostalgia. I drove around through the neighborhood I grew up in and then made my way to the church.

See, the whole reason I went to GSO instead of back home is that a family friend was finally overtaken by cancer a few weeks ago. He had been the choir director for the church I grew up in. He was like a part of the institution. He was a great teacher. And a memorial service for him was being held at 3pm to remember all that he was, and what he meant to the world around him. You know that someone has made a great impact when even the pastor can't get through the Meditation without quite a few tears. I admit that I cried too. It was a touching tribute, and I hope his wife and sons heal their broken hearts soon. They included in the program Twelve Songs (IX) by W. H. Auden. The family's pain was very apparent. He was only 61 years old.

.

.

.

Afterwards I had dinner with my Dad, who was also in town for the service and sang in the choir, my older sister, Clint, and the squirmy nieces. The dinner was lovely, but the nieces would not stay put, mostly Bethany who didn't get a nap earlier. I then got on the road, and I didn't arrive home until 1am. Thank goodness I found HP5 on CD, 23 CDs!!, for the road.

So now I am back. I took a sick day on Monday, and slept most of the day, and used the afternoon to finally move all the Royal stuff from one storage unit to the new, nicer, free one. Everything fit in my truck, except that lovely stained glass coat of arms that RedSwanne did. I was tempted to strap it to the roof of Scarlett, but knew that could only turn out badly, so I made a second trip, just for it. Everything fits, mostly. Even with the larger unit it is still a tight squeeze, although this could be because things aren't so precariously stacked anymore. :)

I'm still fighting a slight fever (even with fever reducers) and a sense of tiredness that really hit me on Friday before this great adventure. And tonight is our Shakespeare play, The Rivals. Another late night, but so worth it. yawn...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next