Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

why memorials?
2003-09-11 - 12:13 p.m.

Thanks to the movie Bull Durham, we have this great line:

The world is made for people who aren't cursed with self-awareness.

I think this speaks somewhat to why we have these memorials, why we have to focus on this day, and why some need to be reminded to "Never Forget". We need to be reminded to Wake Up and that the world doesn't revolve around us, but rather we move through it.

Pearl Harbor Day is not such a big deal now, but it was then and the years following it, I imagine. Perhaps when the wars on terrorism and the countries that actively support it are done and some semblance of peace is restored, then this day can simply become another rememberance day. For now, even for those who were not directly involved by the loss of family or friends or fortune, we must take care to remember this day. Mainly because the majority of us so easily forget.

DC101 observed the moment of silence at 8:46am. It was a gentle reminder for those who need it, and a moment of peace for others. Later a lady called into the radio station saying that she had forgotten, due to working 3 jobs and taking care of her children, it just slipped her mind. It is for these people that these memorials are necessary, not for those who are cursed with self-awareness. I read both Foxphotog's and Celyn's diaries yesterday and marvelled at the vast differences of opinions extolled. Not surprisingly I'm somewhere inbetween. I'm not wearing black, or red, white and blue. I'm not scoffing those who are. But even I haven't forgotten.

While quickly catching up on the news last night, I got to see the recent tape of Osama. For a brief moment I noticed the greater quantity of gray in his beard. I also briefly pitied him because his life now is running and hiding and there is a great price on his head, and it is the life he chose. I pity him his poor choice. And my next thought consisted of three words.

Forgal! Get Him!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next