Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Our migrant workers and A&S fun(?)
2003-09-09 - 4:37 p.m.

Our migrant workers (aka my parents) return tonight from visiting my sister in New York. Funny thing, my little sister's husband's family owns a really cool salvage yard. My parents are bringing me back a sink. I'm very jazzed.

So, when my folks stopped by on the way to NY last week my mom offers to fix the peeling wallpaper in our powderoom. (Brigit, you'll be pleased next time you visit.) I say sure, but then explain why I never got around to it.

She sees the bathroom and the peeling wallpaper and thinks, just take it down and paint the walls fresh.

I unfortunately see the BIG picture and think...

tear down the wallpaper. rip out the sink and vanity, put in a pedestal sink, which may or may not require a new floor. if we have to do new floor, wouldn't it be nicer to make it a wood floor? need new fixtures like towel ring and tp holder. perhaps a shelf for baskets of the few things we keep in the vanity cabinet. oh, and while we're at it, might as well replace the toilet wth the broken edge around one of the seating bolts...

Do you see how my imagination gets out of control and I end up doing nothing, which is why the peeling wallpaper and bare icky wall haven't been tackled for over a year now. That and it's just the powder room, ergo not a high priority. But it is a part of the house that most guests see when they come over. sigh...

But thanks to my Mom and her drive, at least 80% of this will be tackled. We went to homies on Sunday and got paint, wallpaper remover, scorer, new towel ring and tp holder, and parents are bringing new sink. Excellent! The main variable is the floor and does the linoleum extend below the cabinet or not.

Oh and Wendy, you'll love the name of the color. :)


I have a minor thing to brag about. Having entered my second A&S competition in recent years (repressed rant about not entering competitions for the previous 5 years due to office duties and always being asked to run them/judge them), I won the period accessory competition this weekend at Coronation. The time period was 1490-1600, and there were many sub-categories of sponsored competitions, one of them being for accessories. I entered my first real knit project, an Elizabethan knit Monmouth Cap. You can see my docs and an incomplete picture here

Of course the prize was some fabric, which means more to add to my stash. I think I even have a design for it now.

I ended up giving the hat to Kenny since a) it fit his head and b) I like him and c) I want to make a newer better one, especially after talking to the amazing Susanna von Schweissguth and using my lessons learned. I was and still am pretty jazzed. Of course the winners of the other categories were Morgana's woven damask for Best in Show (duh!) and Susanna's knitting assortment for the Strings and Shiney Things. There was no chance of my sad little hat beating either of them, and if I did I'd have to out do Lisette and AoD for Best and Show and that wasn't happening. :)

Now to further illustrate my String related ADD, I have two of my three looms warped with weaving projects. I have sewing to do. I have a little knit tester pouch started. What do I do last night instead of laundry? That's right, I start working on a set of knit garters. sheesh. I'm a moron sometimes. But sometimes it's so much fun being me, and the first half garter looks faboo!

Sailing was a blast, as you have no doubt read from Kenny's diary about the insane Captain Morgan and the fun we had. Coronation was fun too, I got to be fussy decorator in the morning and bum chatter and visitor in the afternoon, followed by fine Mexican food with friends afterwards. Oh and one of the best bests was getting my Miguel loom delivered. I haven't warped it yet. I think I'm a little shy of its awesome design and power. Or I'm trying desperately to keep my String ADD in check.

Now to run by the storage units and possibly to grab burger buns and Diet Coke at the grocery store. :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next