Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

the annual grabbing of the lad... er .. land
2003-08-05 - 4:09 p.m.

Donna Summers' Last Dance is running on constant repeat in my head.

I'm at a very strange place in that I am listening to Harry Potter 4 and reading along at roughly the same place. Kind of odd, usually I've listened to the book and then read it.

Last night I gave up on projects and took a post-work nap and went out to decadent Sushi with the "Junior" Cadet and his Monkey-mate. We did this last year between land grab and war week as well, and was a kinda nice practice to make tradition. I did go home and put the cuff lining on my new girlie G63 and make new stout bags for our Glastonbury chair pieces for transit. I can just see the pillowcases giving up soon, and the original bags were lost by a certain retinue... sigh. I have other stuff I'd like to get accomplished in the sewing room, but I'm just not gonna hold my breath. I'll return to War either Wed night, or more likely Thursday morning.


Land grab was astonishingly easy, at least my part. Well, except the getting there. We were too late with the packing of our stuff and the trailer that we just decided to leave Saturday morning. Well LG was at 9, I wanted to aim for 8am, just in case, so I had to leave aroun 3am, which meant up at 2am. Yup. LG Sat was a very long day.

But I got there, and was pleased that we had worked it all out ahead of time, so we just gathered our land agents, took a gander at the last map, sketched it out and signed off and then went and measured the land. We were done easily by 10am. I had a dayshade set up by 10:30, thanks to help from Arianna. I had all the canvas laid out on the ground and the tent placement marked by the time Alan got there with the rest of the stuff, and even got a quick break when Helmut and Marcus arrived giving us 4 hands to make the work light. All went more or less well, and Alan, Kirsten and I went out to dinner and a Lowes run to pick up our new water heater and stuff to make it go before heading back to site to chat with the boys until late.

Sunday dawned rainy, and we paid for our neglect to put the finnials on the day before with puddles in our tent at the low areas. So we got a bit wet with the rain-proofing the camp, and the boys dug shower pit and trenched hose and Kirsten and I made another town run for pallets (apparently got one the wrong size) and other stuff before coming back to finish helping out. When I left on Sunday at 4pm, we had 7 tents up, pit dug, much stuff put together, our shower stalls were assembled thanks to help from the Narr and I could tell plumbing would happen soon.

The drive back was long and uneventful, with a bit of traffic making it at least an hour longer than it needed to be. I rolled in at 11pm to discover that somebody! had left the garage door open all weekend, but nothing was missing and all was well. sigh.

and here I sit, with more stuff I should be doing, and I am tempted to go home and take another nap...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next