Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Paternal Ponderings
2003-07-29 - 4:32 p.m.

I finished two more webpages for personal stuff today. First you can see the progress of the Backyard Pond here. And I finished my first knitted Monmouth Cap, which you can see sort of here. Yay! Of course I finished the knitted hat when I should have been sewing for Pennsic, but that's how the muse fell last night...

Also, for this weekend I get to take home the My Dad is better than Your Dad trophy. Daddy drove up from Florida (after a stop in NC to work on a tin roof on the farm) and did some electrical and plumbing work for us, cause Daddy is da bomb!

First of all, instead of having one circuit, one pitiful light, some really screwy wiring for the garage doors and one outlet, we now have 3 circuits, 4 great and bright flourescent shop lights, the garage doors wired in a helpful and code way, and 7 outlets around the perimeter of the garage/work shop. This alone makes him really cool, but he didn't stop there.

We went out and bought new faucets for the kitchen, guest bath and powder room sinks, and he installed those this weekend too. They are wonderful, clean, shiny, non-leaky and new. Ah, heaven is attractive faucets for a change. I'm just bummed I couldn't find a lovely faucet I liked for our Master Bath. But he did fix our Master Bath toilet, that used to like to run, before he left town on Monday morning. And he even fixed the drawers in the vanity for the guest bath so they run on the tracks, and did his own laundry and the sheets on the guest bed, and made the guest bed back up!!! I haven't had the heart to tell him that I'll just have to un-make the bed in order to get the futon out for Pennsic.

We also discovered a long term slow leak in our basement by one of the windows that Dad helped Alan clean up after and pull off all the wet plasterboard and clean out the window wells and make it so it won't leak. And bless Mother Nature, she tested their fixes for us with the recent short term, but drenching afternoon and evening downpours.

And finally he insisted on buying us dinner when we went out, even though he was our guest, and he was already doing a ton of work for us. I've learned not to argue with him about payments at restaurants, but still...

And we even got to visit and be social and relax some by the pond and just catch up. And now that Saint called Dad has headed off to do some work on my older sister's Mother-in-Law's condo so they can sell it. Poor thing doesn't get a break in his retirement!

So, yeah, my Dad rocks!

Now, I have to get back to the pre-pennsic sewing that half of the Knowne World is up too.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next