Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Leofwynne's Questions
2003-07-14 - 4:49 p.m.

1. If you could only do one craft or art for the rest of your life, which (of the many you can do!) would you choose, and why?

Evil, evil question. Let me start off by asking how far do I have to limit the field? Can I say fiber arts, any and all? That would remove glass and any painting. Or is that cheating? Can I limit it to fiber arts done with a needle? That would remove weaving, spinning, braiding, etc, but leave me sewing, nalbinding, knitting, etc. Or do I have to pick just one fiber art? If I had to pick just one, I'd say sewing, because it is necessary and gives instant results.

2. What do you consider your greatest accomplishment thus far in your life? Your greatest failure, or disappointment?

Wow. I'd have to say marrying Alan is my greatest accomplishment. That I didn't kill anyone leading up to it, and that I had fun, and that I got the most wonderful sweetie and best friend out of it is a big bonus. It didn't require as much work as graduating from college or something else, but the joy is well worth it.

My greatest failure I think is rather ongoing. The fact that I have been unable to completely get by some transgresions of the past, and that I can't confront certain folks to either offer the olive branch or begin the peace talks really gets at me. I guess this gets me because it is not something that I just made a mistake on and then got by, I haven't gotten by and that is a big failure in and of itself.

3. If you could live anywhere in the world with your husband, and money/jobs were no object, where would you go, and why?

After a visit with my family to England/Scotland/and Wales I swore I'd live in the mountians of Wales one of these days. I guess I really like where I am now. I like our proximity to free museums, many of our friends, so many restaurants, airport, etc. I like being near DC (even if the traffic does suck) and the opportunities that come with it. I think I'd like more land and no homeowner's association so that if we got a trailer we could store it nearby, and many other things that would come with more space. It's a cop out answer, but it's kinda true. I'd also like a helicopter so I could avoid the beltway.

4. What do you consider the best parts of the SCA as a whole? What do you consider to be the SCA's biggest downfall?

I think the best part of the SCA is the people. I have met so many friends thanks to this "game" that it astonishes me. Now I'd be hard pressed to do without them. That and I get a purpose for my creative outlets.

I think the worst part of the SCA is the people. We take things too seriously. We are hard pressed to kick out folks that don't really get it, but easily ostracize them. We can be heavily clique-ish. We have to run on volunteers so that energies that could be put towards authenticity are diverted to paperwork and planning. I'm pretty sure there is no way to fix it though.

5. What, if any, long-term goals do you have, personally and professionally? How do you plan on reaching some (or all!) of them?

Per my answer to Melisent's questions, I'm not so good with goals, either personal or professional. I prefer to think in terms of projects and those are all short term, for the most part.


Assessment was fun. Freddy and Kenny are now officially Alan's peeps. YAY! I found little presents for the girls, but I was lame and called Tonwen by her mundane name Susan instead. opps. The company was most excellent under the dayshade and the feast was delicious. And the hotel rooms I got were plush and comfy. Aside from the injuries, those who missed it missed a good time, I think.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next