Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Interview with a Peli-Gen...
2003-07-08 - 3:35 p.m.

Oh, you guys get a second entry today, thanks to Kimmie's questions. To read the first one, click here to read about my past two weekends and our backyard menagerie.


1. Were you totally surprised when they called you up to put you on vigil? What thoughts went through your mind in those first few moments?

Honestly, I was completely surprised to be called to vigil. If you ask those around me, it took me so long to get it so there is no way I had a clue. My friends are sneaky bastards is all. The thoughts that first went through my head are the ones I articulated to Cuan and Padraiga during that long walk up the hill to the tent. I'm not ready. I still have so much else to do... I don't have a thing to wear... These were the questions I asked between tears. P's answers were soft and sweet. Yes you are. That's kinda the point... You didn't think that was your job, did you? :) The fact that my friends are sneaky bastards came later. I'll take a page from the wise Cuan's book here. I'm going to try to keep on working to endeavor to deserve the honor they gave me.

2. Were you at all disappointed to get your Pelican and not your Laurel? You have been working a very long time towards a Laurel. Do you feel that getting your Pelican will delay your Laurel?

Disappointed? Not at all. I didn't think I was anywhere near getting a Pelican. I know for a fact I'm not near getting a Laurel. I guess the weird thing is that I haven't really been working towards getting a Laurel. True, if I had been given a choice one year ago to join a peerage it is likely what I would have chosen. But every opportunity I had to work on the arts I did service instead. Because it needed to be done. Because I was there to do it. I don't know if it was a conscious choice, I just did what felt right. I do not think that getting a Pelican will in any way delay a Laurel. I know that the only thing keeping me from getting a Laurel is myself. If I settled down and focused and researched and produced and published, I know I could do it. I don't know the time frame, I just know I could. Wow, this sounds egotistical.

Let me re-phrase. I never really focused on the big end goal of getting a peerage of any type. I focused on the little things. Getting this task done. Researching for this dress. Trying this new technique. Learning this new art form. Working on this new office. By working more towards an office, reign or task instead of research and mastery of skill I set my own path without really thinking about it. Does this make any sense at all?

3. Describe the perfect vacation for you and Alan.

I think the perfect vacation for us is one in which we both get what we most enjoy. He likes opportunities to sit and relax and read and smoke a cigar and have a scotch or martini. But he's also a history buff, specifically english military history. I'd rather have museums and site seeing than beaches and cabana boys. I think ideally we'd like to go to England for a while, tool around a bit by ourselves and then half way through meet up with friends. We love each other's company, but we really like our friends too.

4. If you could visit any country in the world for 4 weeks, where would you go and what things would you do while you were there?

Ah, England. Or rather the British Isles. I went there on a brief trip with family ages ago. I'd love to go back and really soak it all in. From the Museum of London, V&A, Armoury at Leeds, and all the tourist attractions like the Tower of London and York to hiking in the Scottish Highlands, traveling on the aquaduct over the river Dee in Wales, boating on a loch, and taking it easy in pubs. I'd love to see Ireland too. I would print out Keilyn's answer and make sure I hit everything.

5. What major goals would you like to have accomplished in life in the next 5 years? How about SCA goals? Career goals?

Hmm.. goals. I'm not a terribly goal oriented person, especially long term goals. I like things with quick deadlines. As witnessed by my fabric stash, those yards that are bought for a specific garment with a deadline are short lived on the shelves. Those that are bought for hoard or long term "I eventually want to make this dress from this painting..." are the ones that collect dust. And in some ways my real life and my SCA life are very much alike. I've never really reached for something specific. I lucked into the job I have now. I never once said I want to work computer support. Everything I've learned has been as a necessity. (Ask my previous boss, it frustrated her. The "What do you want to do?" question was always met with a puzzled gaze.) Likewise, I never set out to be a lady in waiting, I lucked into it thanks to my friends, especially the wonderful Bera. I never set out to take a Kingdom office, in fact I think I got it too young sometimes, but I guess I muddled through. As eventual goals I'd like to eventually make this red and gold dress from a Crivelli painting of the Madonna that I have all the fabric for. Eventually I'd like to deserve a Laurel, but as already stated, I know I'm no where near. Short term- I'd like to get jump started with my most recent SCA job and get it online.

Mostly, I want to be happy. I'm not arrogant enough to know exactly what will bring me happiness down the road, so I trust in faith, fate, whatever higher power and my sweetie that today will be happy, tomorrow will be happy and that when my life draws to a close I'd like to know that most of my days were spent in smiles rather than tears. It may seem like a silly goal, but it's honestly the only one I have.


Thanks Melisent! Those were excellent questions. Brought equal parts of smiles and joyful tears to my eyes. Have you ever considered a career in journalism?

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next