Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Warning, string intense entry ahead...
2003-06-09 - 4:50 p.m.

Yesterday, Alan and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary. In typical fashion, we spent most of the day doing different things in different rooms. He played in the shop with Kirsten, Rob and Wendy, working on benches for Pennsic. Corby and I spent most of our time hanging out in the den, watching TV, playing with string, playing on the computer, killing poison ivy, and cleaning the kitchen. Corby did all of the killing, I did the cleaning. And of course, we all played with Max. We had dinner of pizza delivery with Wen and Rob and ended the day snuggling on the couch while watching bad TV. Before dinner, he gave me a lovely necklace of pearls and silver beads that I wore, even with my sweats. It may not have been stellar, but we didn't really plan on it being so. Still, it was nice to know that another year had gone by and we were still happy, and loving, even if busy. Maybe we'll do something tonight. All the same, I'm such a lucky girl.

The rest of the weekend was a puddly and humid University with fun classes, and a big dinner at our place on Saturday night for all of our little guests and neighbors. Corby and I went grocery shopping after UofA and picked up a bit of food and with the help of Cam and Allessandra (fencer folks from Caer Mear) and Briana/Exchequer we whipped up quite a dinner. Okay, it was mostly Corby the crazy man and we were just Sous-Monkeys. All told we did dinner for 12 hungy people, with three different breads, two different pastas with three different sauces, and grilled veggies, and extra shrimp. Dessert didn't even get touched until Sunday, despite me trying to pimp the Raspberry Sorbet.

raspberry sorbet, the kind you buy at the grocery store...


String, glorius string, lots of yarn to play with!

The previous night Isabel had taught me how to spin linen. She offered a trade, I teach her nalbinding, and she teach me spinning. I can say she was a sucessful student, and a great teacher. I came away with a little ball of linen yarn (if extremely slubby) and she gave me some chunks of flax to play with as well as a better drop spindle to practice with. The drop spindle looks rather like a swizel stick to me. Hey HoneyPot! We thought of you!

In other string related news, my last minute class on Whipcording/spoon-tossing went fairly well this weekend. If you missed it (many of you weren't there, but I wouldn't say you missed it.) you can still get my handout online. After I did my talkie bit and Theo helped me with a demonstration, I let the maniacs loose on the world. Two sets of folks used the wonderful prop I borrowed from Bob, while the other sets attached to hooks on the walls and the elbow above the door. It was so fun watching everyone play. And then... and then... Johanna had to be a trouble maker and instigate a 8 strand/4 person version. Total pandamonium ensued, but it was really neat. We ended up with several style variations in one thick cord that was soo cool. I'll have to find a way to make those instructions webbed as an appendix to the handout, in time. It was great!

And in other-other string related news I made a quick page for my silly nalbinding hat. I had to show it off at UofA this weekend. I think the best times were when Kirsten put it on and did her Gretel impression, and then Kyna put it on and was also extremely silly. hee hee hee...

In yet more string related news, I finished my first knitting in the round object, but screwed up on the finishing so it looks retarded. But it was mostly a practice piece anyway. And then Kirsten showed me how to make eyelet holes in knitting. w00t.

I have been such an ADD string girl lately. Even at the damp Sapphire Joust I bounced between card weaving, whipcording, lucetting and knitting in the space of an hour or so. And I also spent a bunch of time at Violante's booth showing her how to do nalbinding as well as testing out the needles and stuff. excellent....

In final string related news, I finally finished the green simulated satin tablet woven hat band for Alan's big black hat. I still need to finish the edges, but that's it.


Life beyond string and Alan? Is there such a thing? Ah yes, dishes... just kidding.

The weekend before last I went to a wedding of a friend from highschool. It was a very typical southern wedding; huge, lots of flowers, etc. But no alcohol. none. nada. I guess that reduces my chances of looking like a complete idiot in any pictures. I also got to spend time hanging out with my older sister and the wonderful nieces, and my parents. Afterwards I shared a hotel room with my little sis, and we stayed up far to late chatting, not that this surprises anyone reading this. Highlights of that weekend was seeing Trinity call the Croc Hunter a nut!, getting furniture from my brother in law (art deco dresser and antique sewing chest), pancakes at Tex and Shirley's Pancake house with the parents, dancing to AC/DC next to my mom, looking at pictures with my dad, and general wonderful, brief family time.

Well, this is a long enough entry about nothing exciting but a catch-up, so there ya go. I also took a training on using a graphics package last week and that was very fun. I can't promise I'll entirely redo my pages, but the thought has crossed my mind.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next