Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Where troubles melt like lemon drops...
2003-05-22 - 4:19 p.m.

Sometimes I'm bloody brilliant. Like when I made a latch, for the ladies room stall that wouldn't lock, using a rubberband.

And sometimes, I'm just an idiot. Like when I pick up my weaving after 11pm, when I should already be in bed. Like Leno and Conan are really interesting? Although I did get to see Renee Zwellgrhoweveryouspellherlastname. She was too skinny. You could see her ribcage, it was just wrong. I rather preferred her in Brigit Jone's Diary shape. But I did get a few more inches done on weaving. whee.

You can tell it is the beginning of the semester. I spent 2.5 hours on the phone with an instructor on Tuesday. Then I spent all day assisting with a faculty training yesterday. And today I spent 2 hours with another instructor. yawn.

And Tuesday was the finale of Buffy. Very sad to see it go. Theo and I look at each other and ask Now what are we going to do on Tueday nights? Great series, amazing series. Hush, among many others, was a superb episode. Bye Bye Buffy, no more shirtless Spike :(


I'm trying to remember exactly when Rain became a punishment.

Rain used to be fun. You'd go play in it, splash in the puddles, face upwards like Tim Robbins in Shawshank Redemption, run around like morons. When I was younger, my sisters and I used to sit on the front stoop in the rain keeping our bodies mostly dry and getting our feet and legs all wet. (That was when our three butts would fit in one doorway.) We'd revel in being forced to take a break from swim practice during thunderstorms. We used to sit up at night watching the lightning streak across the sky. We'd listen to the pitter of rain on the roof, trees, and street out front.

So when did it all change from splish splash to grumble grumble?

It this due to our adult world of traffic, nice clothes, meetings to attend, and hair spray? Can we not just turn up the radio in the car and dance to the music instead of worrying about being late? Can our nice clothes and shoes not be dry cleaned, or replaced if absolutely necessary? Aren't you just dreading that meeting anyway? You should thank Mother Nature for her good excuse. I can't speak to hairspray, I never use it. It can be hard to enjoy the rain when you think only of the consequences. When all you focus on is the extra time in traffic, muddy shoes, wet hems, damp canvas, of course it's going to make rain miserable.

Why not think of the good things that rain brings?

The beauty of this spring is due entirely to all the rain sustaining the lovely flowers out there. Droughts are much more depressing. Think of a bit of forced time indoors with the ones you love, or the bonding that occurs from folks avoiding the raindrops under one dayshade? Think of the pure joy of waking up on a Saturday morning and falling back into bed to the pitter patter of raindrops to sleep just a bit later.

Without rain there would be no rainbows. And without rainbows there would be no Judy Garland and...

Somewhere over the rainbow
skies are blue
and the dreams
that you dare to dream
really do come true...

If there is rain this weekend, enjoy it. Pack extra clothes and splash in a puddle. Chat with those you are stuck with and learn something new.

Of course, this means we'll likely have sun. :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next