Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

parenthetical entry
2003-05-19 - 3:39 p.m.

This weekend was a good mix of trial and fun. Friday night was a visit with my friendly neighborhood chiro-man, then grocery shopping, then home to put away groceries and then off to Columbia to drop off Bronach's scroll with Meng, and then dinner at Clyde's where I couldn't finish my mousse! (Alan did) and then home to packing for Saturday and getting to bed around midnight.

Saturday morning, 5am dawned too soon. I got up, got dressed, packed the truck and made it to Commencement place at 6:30 to help with set-up, and stuff. I ran a few errands, and then took some pictures for one of the guys on the floor and then boogied after the National Anthem (given permission to do so.) I left around 9am which is much sooner than I had expected. I got to Gina's by 10 to deliver back their tent poles. After briefly marveling at the state of the cig butts on the floor of the garage, and a short chat with Gina and Katie, I was back on the road to the event. I got to Bright Hills around 11am and pulled up to find to Angus and Vlad, who are always fun folks to hang out with.

After getting dressed, there was much discussion of there not being a schedule or plan and we eventually made it to Troll to check in and stuff. And then there was the whole scroll thing. This poor little scroll, that was absolutely gorgeous but caused so many problems.

Adrianna had given me the scroll on behalf of Mitake at Crown. When I was given the scroll I wanted to put it in the truck, but with the heat we figured it would be safer in tent and a "less likely to melt the wax" scroll. So, as you all know, when it came time to pack out after court there were torrential downpours to deal with. We finally pulled the truck right up to the tent, wrapped it in a packing blanket and my cloak in order to get it into the truck dry. Then it gets moved from one safe place to another in our house for two weeks. Friday night we delivered it to Meng and thought all was well. Well! Poor Isabel da' Queen ran into evil traffic on a shut down 95 on Friday on her way up north. It was so bad, they ended up stopping for a hotel near Richmond. Then she was further delayed, got on the road on Saturday morning and made it to Meng's shortly before noon. In a rush Meng understandably forgot the scroll, her cell phone was dead, and pulled up to site without it. We had to find the one place on site with signal for my cell so Havorc got to hear my dulcet tones telling him to come an hour out of his way, when all he wanted to do was sleep, poor thing. All in all, the scroll made it there just fine, but I fear it was far more drama than is usually involved for a scroll, no matter its beauty.

After Havorc arrived the day improved though, there was a bit of chatting and smoozing and playing with nalbinding, and visiting on vigil, and shopping, and chatting with some of the rapier folks, etc. I spent a good chunk of the day hanging out with Angus and Vlad and had a great time with that. They are such fun guys. Evening court was lovely. The new B&B of Bright Hills will do a good job I think. They were dressed well, friendly, warm and reasonably eloquent for a first court. (First Courts are rough for every new B&B and they handled theirs very well.) Then there was Bronach's elevation to the Order of the Laurel, where I got to speak for the first time as a worthy. That was a little odd, I gotta tell you. I've done speaking in court before with the KMoAS job, but this was different. I just hope I didn't sound like a dummie. After court I spent forever hanging out and chatting with folks. We razzed Batcok about being a herald. And then Christian, Freddy, Alyce and I stood around talking until way too late and I finally escaped the site and the land of no cell coverage a little after 8pm. I was very bad and grabbed BK for dinner on the way home. I forgot to ask for a Diet Coke with my meal, and they forgot to ask me what I'd like to drink, so I got regular coke, and only had a few sips of it. Just enough to wash down the fries. I got home, actually finished my silly hat and ended up falling asleep in the comfy chair while watching the end of Harry Potter on TV.

Sunday morning I slept in until 9:30am, and we bummed about until time to run to Ram's Head for brunch with the Lochmere Plague Monkeys. Note: not plaque monkeys, they all are very good about brushing their teeth. :) I got to show off my extremely silly but warm hat, and got many a strange look for it. :) Brunch was good if the service got slow at the end, and I certainly got my fill of second hand smoke. Then Alan and I played around the house. He planted the azaleas in the front yard and I cleaned up my stuff from the event. After a brief nap we headed on over to Homie's for slate, trellises for the roses, and a birdfeeder. Instead we came home with slate, a dark purple Rhododendron for the hill, some Pennisetum rubrum for the plots by the driveway, and a groovy hopefully squirrel-proof feeder. I helped Alan plant the plants and put the new slate around the edge of the pond, and I filled the new birdfeeder and put it in place and let the old birdfeeder meet with Mr. Trashcan.

We finished up the day with the Fifth Element on TV (Alan's all time favorite movie) and sandwiches for dinner (since we were still fairly full from brunch) and I got to play with my new wooden size 3 knitting needles and a bit of string. All in all, I can't complain. It was a good weekend, but I could have done without the getting up at 5am on Sat. morning and too much fast food.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next