Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

"Talkers are no Good Doers..."
2003-05-01 - 5:34 p.m.

Thanks guys for the input on stinky trucks, shady lawns and sad azaleas. You all rock, keep 'em coming.

Richard III was fabulous last night! Like really superbly amazing! And apparently black and red were the colors of the play, so I was even dressed appropriately. I thought the costumes were terrific. Think 50's AoD! The Costume designer was Murell Horton, the same lady who did the Hamlet that I raved about the clothes. She has great use of monochromatic themes and splashes of color and also cool use of pleather/leather. Teri would love them. Back to the play, Wallace Acton was again, truly awe inspiring. The lady, Diana LaMar, who played Edward IV's Queen Elizabeth was splendid as well. Her performance was very powerful, very moving. If you can, go see this before it leaves theaters on May 19th. Also note, they are doing the great performance of Hamlet as the Free For All this year, 5/29-6/8, at Carter Barron Amphitheater.


So, in all this prep for Crown, I've been thinking a bit. Actually it started before I offered to help James. But, little known secret I guess is that for all the organizing and judging that I have done for A&S, I think I could count the times I actually entered a competition on one hand. So, I wonder if I get roped into judging because I don't enter? Or do I not enter because I often assume I'll be needed for judging? It certainly is a bit of a paradox, for you cannot do both at one event. But am I weak then on my documentation skills because I have never really taken the opportunity to write up documentation for an entry into a competition. Should I enter more competitions just for the practice and deadline that they would give me? I can tell good documentation from bad, but could I write good documentation myself? Likewise, as an oft time judge, am I loosing something by never really having the experience of being an entrant? Am I less sympathetic? Are the comments I write condescending without me realizing it? While I can try to project myself as the other person when I re-read what I write, it's never 100%. Am I not really a good judge, I only think I am? I've never walked a mile in those shoes, so how can I earnestly stand in judgment of others and their preparation.

So, that's what's on my silly brain lately.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next