Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

relax, domestic
2003-04-15 - 3:42 p.m.

On my way to work I passed a VW Golf that had flames painted on the side. Flames! on a Golf!!! I mean, come on, it's no greased lighting, or even a firebird or camaro, it's a freaking Golf! Sometimes the world is just wrong. And yet it did give me a good fit of giggles on my drive into work. Nice to start the day off with laughter, right?

So, friday night was dancing at Orpheus with AoD and a few other random folks. Luckily it wasn't too crowded and there was a nice mix of folks so I didn't feel naked. Isobel of course looked completely vintage and faboo in her 1940's gown. It was jaw-dropping. We got to dance a couple of times and spent the rest just hanging out at the bar, chillin' and chatting. My feet and ankles were suitably tired when we left the club at 2am, so that's a good sign of a fun night.

Saturday was much sleeping in, some cleaning of the sewing room and washing fabric, but no actual sewing. :( I think I did do a few more inches on the green cotton satin weave hatband for Alan.

Sunday dawned and a last minute brunch with Kevin and Jake happened. It was great, and my timing was almost perfect. I made pancakes, biscuts, bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs with cheese. I saved the eggs til last and kept everything warm in the oven as I went from dish to dish. Kevin and Jake arrived just as the eggs were cooking. We ate and hung out til about 3 in the afternoon, interrupted some by my parents giving me a call, and then they finally got on the road to go see a hockey game. Then I futzed with cleaning up the kitchen while Alan played more in the backyard and then we took a break to go look at Patio furniture. We find ourselves wanting to spend more time in the backyard now that we have the pond in, and need something to sit on out there. We found a set that we liked, but took the chairs for the set not being in stock as a sign that perhaps we should use the extra time to check out other possibilities. We're going looking at one last place tonight and then we make our final purchase.

Last night we met with a guy about replacing more of our windows. So, sometime in the next 2 months we will have new windows in the rooms of the house that we use the most. I can't wait. And no more freezing in the comfy chair by the window next winter! Yeah, call me domestic, I'm excited about replacement windows and patio furniure. eh.

So, that's pretty much the news from my corner of the world. This weekend is Night Over Board which should be a hoot, then the weekend after that I think I've decided to go to the Bandes' Mousehole event. I hope to have a new outfit, or pieces ready by then, but we shall see. This will require more discipline and using the time after work in the evenings for sewing, so...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next