Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

escape
2003-04-10 - 7:28 p.m.

So, this morning Alan woke me up to tell me there was a deer/doe in our backyard. Now being in suburban MD this is not that much of a shock. On the way home from errands on Tuesday I saw three deer in a side yard munching on new shoots from a shrubbery. In fact, we've actually seen deer in our own backyard before. What was odd about this morning, is that since the other deer sightings we had the fence installed. Now the fence's primary purpose is to deter small children from swimming/drowning in the fish pond. We had hoped that it might keep the deer out, but that was not a big deal. I don't think we were prepared to deal with a startled deer trapped in our backyard.

I sleepily managed to mumble to Alan to leave the gate open in case she gets a clue and finds the opening. I figure I can shut the gate, regardless of the deer's clue, when I leave for work to keep the urchins out. So, when I get up, 40 minutes later, I see Bambi running down the hill on the side of the house as if she was headed towards the gate to leave. I figure she is smarter than we hoped and I put on my bathrobe and clogs to go close the gate behind her.

Um, apparently the gate had shut by accident before she could make her break as I hear a bit of thrashing racket as I close the sliding glass door and quickly decide that if the deer if still loose and angered in the backyard, I wasn't gonna stick around. I go thru the house to the front of the gate to see that it is indeed closed, but I see traces of Bambi on the fence to let me know that she finally got fed up or spooked enough to jump. Luckily the traces she left was just a bit of hair. After giving the backyard a bit of a scan to ensure she was free, I head back inside to shower and head to work.

Randomly during my quick jot down to the cafeteria for lunch I notice the two flavors of slushies are Lemonade and Pina colada. Now we've already established that my mind can be a very strange place. So the song "Escape (The Pina Colada Song)" pops in my head, which given the deer's plight was very appropo.

If you lke pina coladas
and getting caught in the rain
if you're not into yoga
if you have half a brain . . .

Speaking of escaping, I'm not going to an event this weekend. I hope to get some stuff done in the sewing room, and some sleeping in at the very least. :D

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next