Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

coronation
2003-04-08 - 10:18 p.m.

Did anyone else come home from Coronation sick? perhaps it's just me. thank goodness for doctors and antibiotics.

Well, instantly my travel plans for Coronation weekend were altered when Alan came home complaining of a sore back. Poor soul, I gave him the heating pad and my flexeril and went on without him. Luckily while I was gone he sought for something to do that wouldn't hurt his back. So I came home to repaired digital cable, a new printer, and a wireless network in the house with cable intenet. Yay! I can check my email from bed, Alan's played online while sitting out on the patio with a cigar, and now with the cable it is amazingly fast. hee hee hee

But Coronation was lovely, as we often find in the SCA, mainly because of the people. Roland and I drove from 7:30 to 1:30am to Salisbury and stopped at a fabulous hotel. The best way to describe it is held over from the 60's. the bathroom had lovely blue tile, and frosted shower doors with a half lozenge in brown on them. Eh, we were only there for 5.5 hours before we got on the road to site. Driving through the downpour was not what we had in mind, but we got there. Now we had decided to take Roland's car for the gas mileage benefit, but as soon as we hit the site I longed for one of the trucks. The terrain of the day was mudd, and lots of it.

We slogged thru mudd to the field, but i did leave my mug back at the cabin so I had nothing to drink from. Towards the end of the day I was eating grapes just to get some hydration. The last court was very sweet and blessedly brief, as was the Coronation ceremony. Afterwards we had to set up the A&S area and that is pretty much where I spent my day until court. Due to the site restrictions on driving to the field (one way hilly mountain roads) Eldred had quite a bit of a challenge getting all the stuff there, poor thing. You can read his harrowing account on his diary. Despite all odds the A&S came off just fine. There were many fine and lovely entries. As you have already no doubt heard, Lady Rhi won the Best Documentation portion of the Tempora Atlantia. Lady Seraphina won the Best in Show with her patterned sprang pouch entry. I also got to chst with the lovely Mistress Anna, better known as Mitake, and draft Bera, Susanna and her daughter Margaret for judging. After the A&S was done and the entries were being collected I walked back with Rhi to check out the left over goods for sale and grabbed up these lovely hand woven napkins that Mistress Margret had made. They were a steal and I am so glad I snagged them. Now I just need to ask her for care and feeding instructions for them. I'm used to just tossing stuff in the washing machine and I'm understandably hesitant to do that with these works of art. Evening court brought more well deserved awards, notably Susanna's Court Barony and KAE. That was really cool. Also great was Christian becomming Isabel's Rapier Champion. Whoohoo!

I have to interject here something about music. Occasionally my head turns into a musical and every phrase brings up a song. Well this weekend I had 80's music in my head most of the time primarily thanks to listening to the Footloose soundtrack. But for some reason Saturday morning my head was full of snippets from this "Worship together" TV music commercial. It's very sad... I don't know why it happens to me.

The feast was lovely, as can be expected of Emma. The cheese pastry was particularly tasty as was the pork. Although I think Roland and I were in the last group to make it to the hall. For those who haven't been to this site, don't bother. Opps, what I really meant is that the feast hall is as far from the rest of the activities as possible. not only is it at the top of the mountain, while the rest of the activities were in a valley, driving was restricted to the hall. This left our travel choices to the hall to hoofing it (oh yeah, right), Sinclair's vehicle of pain or the haywagon from hell. They definitely needed another larger haywagon for transporting people.

Sinclair was very nice to give us a ride to the hall, but he was obviously done with the loop so he was taking it at faster than posted speeds over the bumpy roads. We did regrettably take the haywagon back much to Roland's knee's shigrin. I had to laugh maniacally at the absurdity of it all.

And of course Sunday brought the long drive back. Although we did randomly stop at the same Wendy's in Hillsville as Rags and Kyna and got to chat with them for a little while. The end result was that we spent rougly 16 hours in the car and 24 hours on site, including sleep on Sat. night. Roland got us home a little after 6pm, and i crashed for a nap, happy to be home. My dress is completely filthy, muddy from the hem to calf and the sleeves and front have been drenched in dishwater. ugh. I still need to unpack and do the laundry. Perhaps when i'm feeling better, and can rip myself away from the cable internet...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next