Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Ice Castles
2003-01-26 - 10:36 p.m.

Fortunatus was a lot of fun, Twelfth Night was pretty good too, but Ice Castles, now to me Ice Castles was truly great. I had many wow moments on Saturday. From seeing the two ladies, one in blue and one in gold, in fine well done italian outfits, to the last court of Vlad and first court of Edwin and Giovanna, to the hand woven fluer-de-lys damask cloth, to the final item of business that was Isobel's Pelican, and then rounded out with a great feast and fun visiting back at the hotel.

After Vlad handed back his coronet to the trust of the Crown I welled up, remembering what a great single Baron he had been and how well he truly exceeded everyone's expectations and dreams. Edwin and Giovanna were lovely and dignified, and they too will prove good for the barony and the kingdom. I got to hold little Regan, I got to teach Lisette to finger weave, play a bit with Brandon in his cute little doublet, and plan for the final item of business in court. Even during the less than pleasant situations I was surrounded by wonderful friends and laughter. And I wasn't a complete slacker since I did wind up in charge of the A&S and did some post-feast kitchen clean up. The feast of all things, that many of us are tentative of attending lately, the feast was superb. Adrianna Broussard trully out did herself. Every dish was tasty, and hearty, and looked roughly period even if it might not have been. (Not a cook, don't know for sure.) And at the end of it all we ate our fill and there was plenty left over if anyone wanted it. The only thing I missed was the pies during the dancing, as Alan was eager to have dry warm feet.

But the main reason for going was Isobel's pelican. The surprise was complete, the banners flying were pure pagentry, the worthies were well spoken all of them, and best of all for Meng and I, she liked her coat. You can see pictures from before it was finished here. It was a labor of love, and it was a true group effort and thank goodness she loves it.

This was one of those events, that even if I come back a little tired and sore, my batteries are recharged. It is events like this one that reminds me where I came from, where I can see the paths of others, the great potential that exists still in the SCA, where I can see old friends and meet new ones and in the end, all is well.

Thanks to Colin the autocrat, Baron Vladimir for a good few years, Baron Edwin and Baroness Giovanna full of potential, to Bera and Christian for smiles and laughter, to Rob and Wendy for the ride and fine roommates, to Isobel, Caitlin and Thomas for judging, and to Robert, Aryanna, Mary-Grace, Anne, Lisette, Tristan, Theo, Thjora, Havorc, Roland and Llywellyn and everyone who helped make the surprise happen. I go to bed with a lighter heart tonight thanks to an excellent event.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next