Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

designs on moving...
2002-06-26 - 4:23 p.m.

Last night I unloaded 8 boxes of books onto the book shelves. All in prep for giving some more smaller book sized boxes (ironically enough) to Kevin and Jake in prep for the great apartment pack-up and move. Hopefully I'll get to a few more tonight as well. Of course the way the books are on the shelves would drive poor Nia absolutely batty, er, battier. Nothing is in alphabetical order. Honestly, I've just been taking them out of the boxes and tossing them on a shelf where they fit. Some of the art books are grouped together, as are some of Alan's war and strategy books together. Same goes for philosophy. I did manage to get all the Tolkien on the same shelf in one clump, but what order they are in is anyone's guess. If you guessed the way they came out of the box, you win. No, you don't win anything in particular, now quit bothering me kid...

A small portion of my day was spent talking to a man we affectionately call Weasel-boy. He's actually been on good behavior, and aside from being slightly stubborn, he's come up with a few cool suggestions and even been receptive to what we want and need. What a concept. Then again, Babs and I were being nice as pie to him to get what we want, but that's been happening since women were made. All in all, I think our new office space will be quite lovely and even spacious and comfy as well. We'll get these things called windows. I'm not to sure about them, but I'm up for a gamble. I hear they let in something called "natural light" which doesn't come from flourescent bulbs overhead. And here I thought sunshine was only something that woke me up in the morning and that burned my skin on the weekends. Must not get too excited, must not get too excited... It takes facilities along with the University about 2 years to get something accomplished. So this is right on par. Two years ago they were threatening that we'd move while four of us were gone to Pennsic. We were almost ready to pack our cubes before heading to war, and then realized it's the state, nothing can happen that quickly. So, here we are, two years later, right on time to actually move.

I guess I should really just be frickin' thankful I have a job, right?

We even went and tried out the new comfy chairs by storming another University department to try out their chairs. How much of a group of heathens can we be? We stormed into an office we had never been, pulled one of the chairs out (yes, there was someone in it...) and started playing with the four different adjustment levers and arms and sliding back and forth and all sorts of little monkeying around. I'm surprised we didn't make cromagnum grunts and snorts to communicate. We mentioned what group we were from and got a "Oh, you guys..." response from one of the folks in the office we distrubed. So paradoxical, we bring in the most money, get the fun toys, but live in the basement with bad air quality and substandard furniture. Well, that's about to change. Thankfully.

I can't think of much else to say. How odd is that, Gen is speechless. Yeah, well, don't expect it to last bucko!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next