Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

talkin' 'bout my evolution...
2002-06-20 - 5:02 p.m.

My drive to work was actually enjoyable today, mostly made so by the EVOLVE fish I saw on a car in front of me. I've seen many a Jesus Fish, and also the ever popular Darwin Fish. I've even seen the rare and illusive but out there Devil Fish and Cthulhu Fish. But never before had I seen the Evolve Fish. It's a cute little Darwin Fish look-alike with hands and feet, but grasped in one tiny fish fist is a wrench. Aha ha ha ha Tool User! Gave me giggles all the way to work. I feel the need to get one for Roland. :)

Song on the Headbone radio: "Talking about my generation..." which gets really old on continuous repeat.

Tomorrow Alan and I will be on a plane bound for New Orleans for my Aunt and Uncle's anniversary party. I'm so excited. First of all my aunt and uncle totally rock. My parents were slightly disturbed at my wedding to find out that Aunt Mary and Uncle Pete knew more of my friends than they did. I think they have figured out my migratary patterns. I will also get to see my cousins and the rest of the family under less hurried circumstances as opposed to seeing them between tasks my wedding weekend. Must remember to talk over Thanksgiving plans with the family as well as a great furniture expedition.

Public service announcement: Any one who thinks they can get a deal on furniture thru me (Roland!)and my extended family is sorely mistaken. I am grateful enough for the kindness that is bestowed on me. If you want deals on furniture, make friends with my family, not me. :) Or buy it at Niemann Marcus like everyone else does. Sorry folks, that's the way the cookie crumbles.

So, back to New Orleans... Biegnets at Cafe Du Monde, walking along the river, people watching from balconies on Bourbon Street, Jean LaFiette's pub, shopping on Royal street. Maybe we'll stop in the 3 Dog Bakery and see if we can pick up another bribe token for Arthur. I wonder who's playing at O'Flahrty's Pub? This will be fun.

Last night I decided to skip the Acorn Folding party since my back was a bit sore. I figured the drive by myself and the actual folding wouldn't help matters any, so I passed. Gave my abject apologies to Gwen, who is often too kind to me. So instead I went by the chiropractor, made a quick stop by the grocery store for some essentials, and then home. I settled into some TV watching, Ground Force and Changing Rooms, and then finally found the deleted scenes from Harry Potter, thanks to Rhiannon. I gotta tell you, that is too much work just to find the deleted scenes on the DVD of Special Features. Way too much work. And then to only be given 7 deleted short scenes, I felt robbed. But then again I guess that means that most of it made it into the final cut, so pretty darn good. I was a little disappointed to see that they had the scene for the discovery of Nicholas Flammel correct, and cut it in lieu of the more dramatic, Hermonie dropping the huge book on the table bit. Maybe it was to further establish her character, but I didn't think it was necessary. Oh well, still a really rocking movie, so there you go.

Then Alan started to put together my sewing room shelves in the closet. Ah, wonderful! He got in the ten shelves of fiber storage goodness nice and level and sturdy. YAY Alan! So what does Gen choose to do at this point? Lay on the heating pad and soothe back while watching TV? Nope. Read those last few pages in Memnoch the Devil and get to bed early? Not bloody likely. Stay up til midnight moving around the big heavy boxes of fabric and unloading them all onto the shelves by fabric type and color? Now that sounds more like the Gen we know...
Yes, I discovered the joy of having the working TV/VCR in one combo in the sewing room, popped in a movie, and emptied the fabric boxes gleefully. I was shocked and amazed that all the fabric I have fits on the shelves. Who'da thought? Then again I did pass off some to Kirsten to make something for Alan, and shoved a parcel Theo's way that came back in Hawky G63 form. I also unloaded a bit of the accessories and notions into the drawers I have and the new sewing machine cabinet, and put the handles on said cabinet as well. Now I need to unearth the cutting table from the piles of stuff and my wedding dress, and put the handles on it and put everything else away. I should also get my dress cleaned, and look into preservation. Perhaps next weekend when I am stuck home on-call for work.

All in all, I wasn't terribly good too my back, but I wasn't exactly horrible either. Besides, Flexeril to relax me to help me sleep is a good thing. Yay Doc who gives me Rx. Not that I'm up to Kymber's flexeril-to-kill-a-horse level, usually half of a 10mg if fine for me. And I get the added bonus of waking up this morning feeling a little better than before, although still twinges, but feeling much accomplished thanks to the night before.

And then parts of today between real work I worked with Sue-Ellen on his heraldry. Super Gen Secret number 1: I can speak some heraldese. He gave me a list of blazons and I sketched some out, immediately knocked off some silly color choices and narrowed it down some. I think he'll be happy with it. Then I sketched a few onto the heraldic submission forms and let him choose. Ah, a feeling of true accomplishment. Now if only I could decide on a damn badge for myself and pass that. le sigh

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next