Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

weekend of uninspiring drivel
2002-06-17 - 3:32 p.m.

White pizza and animal crackers for lunch. I'd feel like Rags except that I'm drinking water too. Not Dew or Fruit2O. Yummy nonetheless. They put a new brand of Animal crackers in the vending machine. Nabisco instead of Austin. Verdict is still out on them. They are more sweet, and have more detailed animals. So far I've found the lion (rawr!), Elephants, Aligator, Gorilla, Horsie, and Camel laying down. I think I need to do a side by side comparison.

So, weekend at an extended glance...

Friday night was off work at 6, visit chiropractor, substitute Dr. Theodore, loved him!!! Then off to Miss Gina's to pick up my remaining left over stuff from the wedding. 5 cases of beer and two of wine, and that is after the post wedding party at Gina's. Hmm... I see another party in our future, wait, we do need to do a house warming... I also retrieved the plants Tracie had left behind, they aren't quite dead yet. Gina was nice enough to collect my pictures from the mantels, my makeup bag, etc. I think I got everything of mine from her house to free up some space for her and her family. Thanks for holding it for me! After that I went home and Alan helped me unload all this stuff into the house. Then I put three bottles of wine in a bag, grabbed Theo's trays from the rehearsal party, and her cooler, still filled with sodas and a bag of ice. I then leave Alan to the peace and quiet of our house, and head over to Theo's to give her back her stuff and pick up random other plants from her, the ones that lived. Of course I stay there chatting with Theo, and her lovely guests; Anne, Isabel and Novella. Roland managed to fool us into thinking he was asleep thru most of it, and then spiking the playing field with a real zinger. It's always the damn quiet ones... I get a present from Anne and Les, and open it under watchful eyes. First of all the card was the same card Theo got for Matt and Susan's wedding that we all signed. We died laughing... Thanks for the lovely time.

I got home around 12:30am and then stayed up tinkering around, putting stuff away and reading until 2am, bed by 2:30. Needless to say that 7:30am came way too soon. And Alan woke me up by shaking my foot, grabbing my bruised toe. Pain is an excellent way to wake someone up. I know it wasn't malicious, and he apologized profusely. Poor guy, with a broken wife.


Bob is right, I do have "really blonde hairs" on the top of my head. In the flourescent lights in the work bathrooms it is hard to tell if they are gray or white. Time to revisit bottles of hair dye. Haven't dyed my hair since before Gulf Wars, I think. I blame Tara and Wayne for the gray hairs. All their fault.


The event was a lot of fun. Alan and I arrived late as usual. First we set up our dayshade on the rapier field, unpacked the car of everything except my basket and I went to park Scarlett so Alan could fight. Then I walk back from the lot hike and find the royals all standing around and I see if my help is needed. Discussions of shoes and belts and handbags matching ensued since someone's lipstick and apron straps matched the car so well. Then since Big Black was unpacked, and folks were busying about setting stuff up, I volunteered to park Big Black. There ain't nothing like the rumble of a diesel engine and a smiling blonde behind the steering wheel to make folks get outta the way. That's right, fear me. Then I stopped by to get Princess Combat Boots (Your princess wears combat boots!) and hiked back to the field. Just in time to park Anne's car so that she and Novella could attend Her Maj, and fetch more stuff from the Prince/ess vehicle for them. I was the royal vehicle parker, combat boot and towel fetcher and tent putter upper.

Tent putter upper you say? Yup. See, there is no hall for this event so the Barony of Highland Forde borrowed the large tent from Bright Hills. It was sadly short staked in very wet ground from the days previous of rains. That put together with the windy day, and you had a repeat of the first pennsic with the Megalino. The first time it went down, I had someone toss me a hammer across the creek, and helped Fergus, the A&S guy, and some other ladies, cause everyone else was busy fighting on the field to put tent back up. We double staked the wind facing corner, thinking all was well. Sure. Then after Pell Mell, when I took third behind the Rol-ymber and Theo, and during court the tent went down again. Luckily I sneaked back in court, grabbed the same hammer and helped re-erect the tent again, trying in vain to angle the stakes more and hoping for no wind during feast. Sadly, during the second tent re-erection is when I hit myself in the finger with the sledge hammer. owie! I'm a danger to myself. I also got the joy of walking around with Princess that afternoon and pointing out some VIP's to her. It was a very pleasant day, great weather, lovely company, royalty to be proud of. Cuan and Padraiga kindly invited Alan and I up to high table for dinner, we gave our feast spaces to Roland and Theo, who seemed to have a fun time with Thomas and Denise and others during feast. We had fun up at high table, extenuation of the great company of the day into the evening. After feast we were all packed up and on the road before full darkness had set. Partly for my tired brain, partly for Anne's safety, we followed Jake the Tahoe and Anne's little Taurus back to Silver Spring, only splitting off to head our own way at the end. Glad it made Anne feel better. Made me feel better too. Following someone in foreign territory at night is always spooky.

Sunday Alan wanted to be productive. I begged and pleaded while occasionally glancing at Trading Spaces on the TV to please have a relaxing nothing day, please, just once to be a bum. So we compromised. We were only somewhat productive, and got to bum some too. I did do laundry and some picking up, and my nails.

When it comes to nails, I'm an anti-girl. I can't do my own nails. It is sad. It took me two hours including drying time to simply cut my nails, file and put a clear coat on them. See, everytime I thought I had it right, I'd have one screw up and I'd put some nail polish remover on a cotton ball to clear the offending nail of lumps and start over again, and then I'd screw up another, ended up redoing three of ten. I'm such a nail polish 'tard. I really am. I think I need to go to Girl 101, to include nail polishing, make-up application, how to walk in heels, setting the dinner table, and how to keep my damn mouth shut. sigh.

We ended the evening with chinese food delivery and ironing the curtains to make them look a little less fresh out of the bag. I then stayed up too late watching the season premiere of Witchblade, and finishing the book Theo lent me. Dunno how I feel about the Witchblade premiere, I guess only time will tell if the story works together.

Well, that was a bunch of un-inspiring drivel, wasn't it? I need to head back to work and such. I am inclined to go to the Acorn folding party on Wed, if for no other reason than to pick up our copies since we forgot to change addresses with Corporate and they won't forward 3rd class mail. This weekend we head to New Orleans for my Aunt and Uncle's party and more French Quarter time. I can taste the benigets already... maybe it's the aftertaste of animal crackers though...


Ah, yes, the latest quizes...


find your element at mutedfaith.com. <�>


What Type of Villain are You?
mutedfaith.com / <�>

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next