Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Mr. and Mrs. Smith, that's right, Smith
2002-06-14 - 2:07 p.m.

So much to say...

Well, as most of you know by now, Alan and I are officially wed. Mrs. Gravesend and Mr. Genevieve. If anyone calls him Mr. Genevieve I'll give them a dollar, I swear. :) And for those of you who spelled his name wrong on the card, he's okay with it. Heck the Chiropractor has his name wrong in the files too. He lives.

Following Anne's tradition, let's do a Best and Worse. Not that there was really a worse, but a less than perfect shall we say.

Got a bunch of stuff accomplished in the two days leading up to it, getting plants, roses, walk-thru, ribbon and stuff.- Good

Not getting everything accomplished, like pruning the old eyebrows, and other beauty things.- Less good

Having my Koala sewing room furniture delivered at noon on friday, cute stuffed animals, and fun functional furniture.- great!

Not being able to play with said furniture since I had so much other stuff to do.- pout.

Not getting around to getting my nails professionally done.- bad gen.

Having Isobel do my nails on friday night around midnight.- decadent!

Dropping the bookcase on my foot on friday while Alan and I were stabilizing the other corner of bookcases in the living room. Blood, bandaids, hurt like a muther.- Big Bad

Having already bought the white Doc Marten Mary-Jane's for fun and frivolity, so I didn't end up cramming poor sore foot into high heels.- Unexpectedly Wise

Staying up til 4am in the hotel on Friday night with Chris and Tracie, just chatting the night away.- Fun!

getting up early to shower and get to mansion on time.- I am sooo not a morning person.

Dress was a little too tight.- bad, should have starved last week.

Fitting into dress anyway with help of corset and friends, and ending up being comfy, and just showing a little more cleavage.- It'll do.

Having icky unwashed hair the day before.- blech.

Having Mary-Grace turn said dirty hair into the beautimous style she did and feeling comfy all day.- Excellent!

Spending too much on make-up I am not likely to wear often, if ever.- less than ideal

Having Meng do my make-up so I was flawless and even comfortable.- priceless

Wearing Jeremy's grandmother's Montana Sapphire ring as my something old, borrowed and blue.- honoring ... Hmmm... can't think of a negative for this one... :)

Walking down the ailse to not only see my best friend and love, but also all the smiling faces of all the friends who trekked from near and far just to be there for us... Well, us and the free food and booze.- Fabulous!

Not being able to spend as much time as I wanted with everyone who was there.- Bummer, but understood nature of the beast.

Seeing all the loot as I walked down the stairs with my dad on our way out.- Whoohooo!

Impending doom of having to sit down and write "Thank you" notes.- eh, but nice for remeniscing...

Essentially, things went as close to perfect as I could have imagined. I'm a fairly realistic girl, so the flowers were not tied as I hoped they would be, the tables were supposed to be more spread out, blah blah blah, nothing detrimental. And it was a fun party, which made a big difference. I got to eat a little bit of the food, when they brought it out to us during a quick break in photos. It did not suck. Basically I felt lovely and loved, and that is the whole point of the day. I'll never forget staring into Alan's eyes, saying our vows, at a new beginning...

I also thought all the ladies in hats were marvelous. Kirsten in her matching navy blue hat, Brigihd of the big hats in her stunning black, white and red outfit, and even the Tricia and Kymber were in hats. How lovely. And I have to thank Gina, Wendy, Mel, Tracie, and Meng for everything they did to help make it a perfect day. I am truly blessed to have such friends as these.


Okay, enough of the sappy.

Afterwards we headed out to a nearby hotel, I brushed the hairspray out of my hair, and we both crashed hard in hotel for a two hour nap. Hey, these things are exhausting! Afterwards we had a lovely dinner at Clyde's and a nice walk around the lake, and back- since the trail doesn't quite make it all the way around. Sunday we woke up, had brunch at the Ram's Head in Savage, went home, unpacked the truck, opened gifts Whoohoo! Loot! you guys really like us! and then packed to head out of town. We drove down Rt. 301 for the scenic route to Williamsburg. After a bit of hunting for the hotel, we found it and were within walking distance of the colonial bit and the market square so walked down to find dinner. It was rather zen. We ended up eating at the Trellis Restaurant in the Williamsburg Merchant square. Wow, that was a night of really fine dining. We split a bottle of Afton Mountain Chardonnay. (Mistress Grace's uncle has a place on Afton Mtn apparently.) We also ran into Addie and Timoch there with her dad. That was neat. It was a very lovely evening.

Monday, we were awoken by room service for breakfast and that was really decadent. We ate breakfast in bed, after the waiter left, I brought Alan his breakfast to the bed, and I got my own and then after breakfast I curled right back up and went to sleep. Ah, blissful. I slept right thru Alan watching CNN. :) Then I woke up again and we went to Jamestown. Now Alan has done volunteering in the Court of Guard at Jamestown, so it was a little odd to be there as a tourist, but I had never been there so we tromped all over like children exploring the ships and the houses and the exhibits. It was a warm, but not hot day, with a slight breeze. About as perfect as we could have expected. After finding a postcard with Geoffry leading a charge, we checked out of the gift shop and headed to the Glasshouse. I love the glasshouse, I'm mesmerized when I go there. I swear, I could watch them make the same style piece over and over again. Alan had to pull me away. Sadly the shelves of the shop at the glasshouse were understocked, so we went back to the settlement for more shopping for glassware. Then we drove in the AC to the Williamsburg Pottery Factory and went shopping. I was held up part of the time by the lovely shopping cart, but shopping is always fun, so we collected stuff in the large solars, and spent money, and were kicked out at closing. We bought a lamp for the guest room, it is soo cool! Saw a fleur de lys Dale Tiffany lamp that both Meng and I would fight over, and I would have gotten it, if it weren't so much $. We also picked up odds and ends like mixing bowls and planters. :) Afterwards we went out to Red Hot and Blue for dinner on our way back to the hotel. Mmmmm.... Ribs.....

Tuesday was Colonial Williamsburg in the morning after brunch in the bistro of our hotel, and more shopping, and looking, and admiring the history. I confess, we took the cheap tour or Colonial Williamsburg, bought no tickets, just walked up and down the main street, looking in the stores, sort of like some of the first days of shopping at Pennsic, when you want to see what's out there before the big purchase spree. Then we hopped in the blissfully airconditioned Scarlett and headed homeward, with a stop in Richmond at Agecroft Hall. For those who have never seen this wonder in Richmond, make a time to stop and smell these roses. Sadly, the Docents are a little hit and miss, but try not to laugh and enjoy the lovely scenery. :) And the Gardens, ohh the gardens. Then we tried to go to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts and see the Tiffany glass exhibit, but we were late due to dilly dallying in the Agecroft gardens, so only had 5 minutes to gaze at the lamps. Lust for the Wisteria... Then we swung by and had dinner with Kirsten at a local Japanese Steakhouse, and had a lovely time before getting on the road to home. Blissful, lovely home sweet home.


Now we are home, sadly back to work, but happy in our own bed. My poor little cell phone, godblessitslittlecircuts, lasted me throughout the wedding planning and the day of madness. Good little 4 year old phone. Poor phone has been dropped by blonde one too many times. Poor phone finally deserves a rest. So, I was gonna go out on Wed. night and get a new phone and exchange a gift that was shipped broken. Surprisingly my folks happened to be driving through DC on their way back from visiting my lil' sis (yeah, the one in the red dress for those that were at the wedding, skinny little....) and Niagra Falls and en route to visit the Hickory NC crew. They wisely wanted to avoid the beltway during rush hour and figured dinner was a good way to kill time. Dinner was lovely, and I adore my folks, but it did put a damper in my ability to get errands done. So, last night I did all the errands. I got a new phone, Oh she's so cute, and slim and has lots of groovy features! yay! and exchanged said broken dish and spent a load of $ at Target getting the stuff on my registry that I really wanted... and putting up curtains at home, and all sorts of fun before heading off to try a new pub for Thurs. night instead of Last Chance which is too noisy and crowded with the silly live Trivia they have. pooh! Basically I've had a great week, and it just keeps getting better. I even love the cooler temps and the rain. I'd go play outside in it if it wouldn't get my foot bandaid wet and make these shoes not wearable... of course, it has probably stopped by now. ah well...

Looks like I will make it to Highland River Melees on Saturday, so look forward to seeing some folks there!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next