Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

lions and tigers and clones, oh my!
2002-05-15 - 5:20 p.m.

Animal crackers. Whoever came up with the idea of making crackers, that are more like cookies really, in the shapes of animals was brilliant. Sort of like making goldfishes cheesey crackers that are fish shaped. Makes them more fun to eat somehow. Lions, sheep, elephants, turtles, bears, bunnies and more, all at my disposal. yum! Sometimes, depending on the animal, I like to bite the heads off viciously. Sometimes you play with them on the desk for a while before consuming them. Sometimes you eat them piece by piece; back legs, front legs, butt, body, neck and then head. And sometimes you just eat them all in one bite. Monkey! :D

So, Saturday was Kenny and Tonton's wedding, and it was lovely. She looked the picture of elegance and beauty, floating on a ivory cloud. He looked dashing and debonaire in his morning suit. Nevermind the jokes about letting his hair be loose before the wedding and tying it back after the ceremony... tee hee. The food was great, and company even better, and they ordered too much champagne. How fabulous! The ceremony even made me a little teary. sniff sniff. I rode up to the wedding with Wen and Rob so Alan could take my truck into work. He was so bitter to have to miss the ceremony to head into work and fix broken routers, but such is life. He made it for the food and toasting, and had a good time too.

grr... lion!

Afterwards we went to the Aquarium Center in Randallstown, MD, off of Liberty Road. This is apparently the mecca for aquarium fish enthusiasts in this area. It is mighty big and impressive and has lots of variety, although I'll admit to just liking the cute fish. We went in search of a pentagonal tank for our living room. We came up with many different ideas, but nothing quite what we were looking for. But we got to browse a bit, which was fun. After that we swung by the K-Mart store closing sale on Liberty Rd. We found a little dinette for the kitchen and some end tables that didn't suck, but after assessing the line and the lack of carts we decided that it didn't matter how low the prices were, it wasn't worth the time and energy investment, which was wise since my feet were beginning to hurt like hell.

elephant!

So we head home only to be unwise and get stuck in the traffic on 29 south. Snarl, but we got to chat a bunch which is lovely. Sometimes even living together it's hard to find good meaningless chat time. Once we got home we changed, you'll have to ask others about my outfit, and I napped on the sofa. love to nap, hmm... purrr... and then went out to a light dinner with Wen and Rob, back to hanging out in our new living room and drinking scotch or cider before calling it a night.

Bunny!

Sunday was some lazing about, some mowing of the lawn, lots of laundry, etc. I did brave the K-Mart store closing in Columbia to fetch the dinette set, this time wearing more comfortable shoes. Alan and I assembled it while watching BBC America or something. We were bums and productive at the same time, imagine that, and loved it. Later we called the respective moms and wished them a happy mom's day.

horse's head?

Monday was assembling the family room entertainment equipment. Alan was plugging in and setting up the VCR, DVD player, receiver, cable box and TV. Penguin!!! Occassionally he'd pause to scratch his head in confusion, I'd suggest something off the wall and he'd try it and it would work. Eventually we got everything set up and even got it able to record where previously we could only record silent blue screen. Yay us! Maybe one of these days we'll learn to program it. really we will... Of course with the digital cable, we have to have the cable box on and set to the channel to record, so no recording one thing from one channel and then another from someplace else. Mel suggested we get Tivo. How much does Tivo even cost? And I just know that while it is simple enough for a 2 year old to understand, I'd just find it daunting... Tuesday night I watched, and recorded, Buffy and ordered my new sewing room furniture from this wonderful place called the Sewing Machine Outlet out of Metairie, LA. Sam was excellent!

Hippopotamus!

And tonight is a busy night. First a meeting with a Long Fence Rep to discuss fencing in our back yard. Then I need to run over to Wen's place to help her wrangle paperwork. Then, hopefully we can be done relatively early so I can get a nap before going to see Star Wars: Episode II tonight with Shane and Gina. YAY! I'm not a huge Star Wars fan. Hell, I was the dead weight when playing Star Wars Trivial Persuit in Kymber's basement, but still, I like the movies. And any reason to do something completely illogical, like go to a midnight movie when I need to work the next day, is a good reason to me. I'll be sure to tell you all about it! Okay, I won't, I'll be sleeping in a puddle of my own drool at my desk, so I promise not to ruin the movie for you. I promise...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next