Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

update...
2002-04-23 - 2:24 p.m.

I know you all are waiting with baited breath to know our current house situation...

So, Bera called me last night and we chatted about stuff in general. She might stay with us this weekend while she's up here. We only have couch space to offer, since futon mattress is in storage, and will put her to work packing boxes, but she should be a pro at that by now with her recent move. I can't wait to see my Bera, even amongst the crazy that will happen shortly...

What Crazy? you ask...

I got two new mice for my computers in my cube! yay! I'm so excited. The old mouse on newer computer was becoming such a pain. The roller that controls side to side movement was stuck and therefore getting to the left hand side of the screen was proving difficult. This is even more a pain when you think that most website put their navitgation links on the left hand side... yeah, I was one click from going postal. Luckily Red saved the day and brought me a new mouse, although it looked a little like it have been in a fight with the other mice, torn ear or something, but it was perfectly functional. After I put it on new computer, Red then showed up with another roller mouse for old computer. YAY! So I shut them both down and put torn-ear mouse on old computer and new sleek mouse on new computer. Hurrah! Of course then Red has to tell me that the reason my old old mouse was having issues was due to a long blonde hair wrapped around the side to side roller bar. Opps. Can't blame anyone else for that, now can I?

You want a house update, don't you? Well, patience is a virtue.

So, how bad is it that I still need to get a) music, b) flowers and c) find a decent priced hotel nearby the wedding site and it is 46 days til my wedding? I also need to learn to convert some songs on CD to MP3 and then mix them back onto CD's for the background music for the day. I know it can't be that hard, the kicker will be if my computer at work has a writable drive. And finding the time, and making the selections. I have a good general idea, and if push comes to shove, I can just pick a few CD's and go with those, but you know how ever CD has one or two songs on it that you don't like? I also still need to do veil and hair and makeup run thru. Good damn thing I shied away from the crack of making my own dress.

What's all this asking the status of the new house?

Don't get the Seafood Gumbo in the cafeteria upstairs. Ick. I figured I liked gumbo. But also forgot for a split second that gumbo outside of Nawlins isn't quite right. It was lacking in true taste. I ended up picking out the few seafoody bits I could find, and munching on those. The rest, sadly, I pitched. It was really not that appetizing. Luckily, it actually made it so I wasn't hungry, so didn't feel need for more food after pitching icky wannabe gumbo. Maybe I'll have M&Ms for an afternoon snack, and then I can blame the extra fat on the conference center cafeteria. Yeah, that's it. Also reminds me to make plans to fly down to Nawlins at the end of June for Aunt and Uncle's party. Need to let my cousin (the travel agent) know we're coming down and want a room. :)

Okay, fine, house update! Why you gotta be so pushy? :)

House update is as follows. We have finally got Mr. Seller to budge and let us move our stuff into the current vacant new house! We get the keys on friday, the 26th. Alan's hoping to maybe push it up to Thurs or Wed, but even friday is better than at closing. So, we get to start with the full time packing, and moving, primarily of the fish. We will temporarily set them up in smaller transfer tanks in the basement so the movers won't have to work around them. This also gives us what is left of our weekend to pack and move the more fragile things ourselves, (pictures, glassware, etc.) and leave the large items (dressers, couches, chairs, tables, etc.) for the movers. We hope to hire movers to move the rest of the stuff on Monday. Closing is set for Tuesday at 1pm, so we have the morning to collect last minute stuff. We also get to decide if we want to sleep on futon in empty house while the rest of our stuff is at new house, or if we get a hotel room for the last night. Apparently Mr. Seller's letting us move in prior to closing is conditional on that we not live there. So all our stuff can move before closing, but we can't sleep there. Fruitbat, whatever, it'll be fine. So, as of the first of May, we will officially have newer bigger house, and, oh yeah, new address. Must make sure to get those changes of address done at Post Office, and such. I'm really excited and daunted at the same time. So many books to pack. What the hell is Alan storing in the garage attic right now that we'll have to move? Cleaning out the garage. Packing up tools? Moving the aquarium fish should be easy, but the pond fish? What to transport them in, some have gotten absolutely huge! Dinner sized if they weren't icky carp. I envision water splashes on the floorboards of Scarlet. And, packing up the kitchen? It may be small, but we still cram a bunch of stuff into it. So, if I seem distant, distracted, more spacey and blonde than normal, forgive me.

Luckily, I have the Best Boss in the World (TM), who is letting me take off Thursday through Tuesday to get all this madness somewhat under control. Did I mention that we haven't actually hired movers yet? They must be nice to my leather, or I kill them. Wrath of Gen indeed.

So, that's it. If you don't hear from me in a while, understand. I won't be at a computer likely for 6 days in a row. Now that sounds nice.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next