Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

NOB and a lovely brunch
2002-04-22 - 4:35 p.m.

Testing continues. I wonder how many more times I can crash my poor little old other computer? The day is young yet. I have faith at least twice or thrice more.

Fun new discoveries. The new place has purple and gold irises already growing in the front flowerbed. This makes me so ecstatic I can't begin to explain. They are not my favorite color combo, but lovely, if small, bearded irises!! And not the wimpy ones they sell in florist shops either. yippie- skippy. I do think the sad crawling tulips planted under the blue spruce need to be transplanted. It's just cruel to not let them grow. Forgot to inspect the rose bushes further in my excitment of seeing the irises. Oh well. We're thinking we might just take out the stairs that lead to nowhere in the backyard and put the pond so that you see the waterfall thru the sliding glass door from the front door. That would be neat. I think we are watching too many home and gardening shows on HGTV or TLC or the new Discovery Home and Garden network. We watched a show on extreme homes overlooking lovely bays and what not, as well as the 2002 home and garden show preview on TV. le sigh... in due time.

We have appointments set up to settle on the houses. 1pm for selling the current house, and 2pm for buying the new house. Wow, I hope this lady is good. She should be since she is handling both of them. She'll likely get tired of us by the end of the day. Luckily she had already gathered most of the info, so it might actually work out afterall. We could get lucky. We deserve to be a little lucky every now and then. Still no official word on if we can move in, at least some stuff (feeshes), before settling. Luckily our realtor is building good raport with seller. He's asking him questions and such about another house he's trying to sell. Essentially using him, but if it gets Jack more business and us into the house this week, then I can't complain. Of course that could mean moving this week! Argh! I want it to be soon, but do not look forward to the work involved. If we could move before this weekend that would totally rock! And be stressful. Do not fret, my friends, we will be hiring professional movers, unless they can't do it in our short timeframe. That would truly suck. But to be moved in with the irises still in bloom? heaven...

Saturday was fun, if laid back. I was still in bed later than I should be for Alan to get on site in time for real fighting. I knew that Theo desired to be slow moving as well. So, I called her at 9 am suggesting that if Roland came and picked up Alan to take him to the event, (so they would be on time for the fighting and Thomas's prize, and not hindered by slowmoving female types), then I'd come and pick up Theo and bring her to the event later, (at our own lazy pace that involved breakfast in bed and a little more snoozing.) This plan was agreed to by all and Roland and Alan got to site just in time for the first melee and Theo and I straggled in around 1ish after a Starbucks run. :) I checked in at troll, picked up my super duper cute blonde rat (her name is Debbie, get it, Blondie singer Debbie Harry...) and then wandered about chatting with folks. I ran into an old friend from Blacksburg, Scott, who has been fringe SCA for 15 years. Has SCA friends, has been to a few events even, but never chose a name or actually got involved. He's also moved around a whole bunch. Since he has recently moved to Annapolis, I took him around, introducing him to several Lochmeri folks, including the Chatelaine-Cicilia, and Arianna, and Isobel, and Q, and many good folks in general. He seemed appreciative since he's been in the area for a year, but it is so hard to get started when you don't know anyone in the immediate area. I made sure Cicilia got his email address and name today, so maybe he'll actually get involved. That would be good for him. Court was amusing ('sup foo!), and feast was really yummy too. I definitely went home full. Stayed a bit longer than I was planning too, but did not want to abandon Bob in his time of need, or something. So we stayed until midnight or so, Alan helping Q finish off a bottle of scotch, I got my trapezious muscles squeezed, and apparently Isobel saw god. :D

right now my hair is doing a funky ^|^ thing. I feel like if my hair was a cartoon hand, I'd be giving everybody the bird. Such is life when you desparately need your growing out bangs out of your face, and no hair clips or headbands to be found.

So, Sunday was a brief meeting with the realtor, a quick drop by the house to check out the rough shod 2nd shower repair job, and then lunch with Drea and Calli.

We asked the seller to do two things to the house before we settle and that was get the Hvac system inspected/serviced by a pro, and fix the squishy tiles around the fixtures in the second bathroom. Apparently the Hvac person is checking out the system today, and he "fixed" the tiles in the bathroom. Well, he took them off and put them back on, but didn't replace the backer board. But at least it will hold for a while longer before we need to completley redo the entire bathroom. This is what happens folks when you don't caulk around the shower and tub fixtures. freaks... Then Jack left us to poke around the house a bit more, showing us how to lock up when we leave. We discussed more the curtains I put on the registry, colors, furniture placement, fish tank placement, etc. Still kinda fun.

Afterwards we rushed up to Clyde's to meet Drea and Calli for lunch at Clyde's brunch. Clyde's does a kickin' brunch, I might want to add. Alan and Calli both had the steak and eggs. Calli's poached egg had too much vinegar, so they noticed he didn't eat it and gave him a free dessert. Drea had french toast that looks above average, and I had the lovely Salmon Roulade with asparagus. We chatted and hung out for 2 hours until we realized that they should really get on the road. It was a great time talking about pennsic troll, and weddings and life in general. Glad I took the time.

Then the rest of the day was spent napping, taking a soaking bath, watching Home and Garden TV, reading, and being bums in general. It was even more lovely. My garb from Saturday is laying in a pile in the bedroom, and I don't care. I should, but I don't. :) Maybe I will care tonig

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next