Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

release
2002-04-17 - 5:02 p.m.

Sometimes it is all about the little victories.

Like standing in front of the snack vending machine with a handful of change and saying, No, I'm not hungry...

Or about the little blessings.

Like walking around outside in the sun, barefoot in the grass.

And sometimes one man's trash is another man's treasure.

To call our office cold would be a bit of an understatement. I freeze in here, especially in the summertime, when the A/C is cranked. But honestly it is easier to freeze than to listen to someone whine about it being 80 degrees in his closet of an office. One of my coworkers lives in an apartment where they won't turn on the A/C until May 18th or so. Needless to say after a few nights of going home, opening all the windows, turning on the fans, and sitting in the heat he appreciates the cold of the office. I, however, still see it as just plain cold, and a whine reducing action I'll just have to suffer through. Hey, I got a denim shirt I can throw over my t-shirt.

So, the bad thing about wearing slip-on shoes to work is that without socks my feet freeze to solid blocks of ice. The good things about wearing slip-on shoes to work is that it is easier to tuck my feet underneath me in my desk chair, and easy to slip them off for afternoon heat soaking, barefeet in grass walking experience. The nice fine baby grass, the clumps of thick lucious dark green grass, warm sunny grass, cool shady grass... And then I can sit like a lizard on one of the concrete benches and soak up the sun through my feet, my butt, and my face. Ah, sun...

Yeah, I have an inner hippie/beatnik too. But I am not without my inner child, who normally says neener neener neener! most of the time. And occasionally I WANT!

Last night I was going to be virtuous and tidy, and address more invites, maybe make my own dinner, until someone felt the need to release her work demons, which is best done in a fast moving vehicle on random roads with the windows down and wind rushing thru your hair. I offered to drive. We headed up to Ellicot City, with what little daylight we had left, and drove around its twisty curvy historical roads, looking at closed antique shops, and nice large palacial houses, even one that looked like a castle. Afterwards we stopped at the Target in Columbia Crossing to add more stuff to my registry, with the promise of Border's when we finshed before meeting the fighter practice crew for dinner. Needless to say we got lost in Target, and my partner in crime was evilly tempted while she helped me add stuff to my registry, she picked up some things for herself. Everything from a Pooh kite, to new measuring cups and spoons, to new sunglasses. Gotta love Target. We broke free just in time to make it to dinner, narrowly missing the temptation that is Borders. Alan was so surprised to see me. :) It was random, I hadn't planned on going, it just happened. We got to see Don-don too! He's so cute!

Back to the grind. Testing new software release, must discover all the bugs now to get them fixed before the next round of classes are released.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next