Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

testaholic and KA&SF
2002-03-05 - 2:57 p.m.

I tried to stay away from the tests, really I did. It's just, it's so hard to quit.
Hi, my name is Gen and I'm a personality testaholic.

Hi Gen!

Okay, so more test results, sorry guys...


Which Izzard Are you?

Slut Izzard: You'll crawl into any duvet any time of the day. You get to shag everyone, and wear all their clothes. You're concerned with appearances, whether anyone will shag you, or whether you'll shag anyone else. Rejoice!! For you are a fashion queen.

Somehow I don't think so... But gotta love Eddie Izzard!


I took the What Mythological Creature Are you? test.

Riddle me this, riddle me that...

Not quite smart or clever enough to be a Sphinx, but I'll take it.
Wings, smarts, good looks, playing with the little human toys... okay, you convinced me.

And I really like this one!

Rogue
I'm Rogue
What X-Men Character are You?
Well Ah do declare, Sugah! Looks like you're everyone's favourite Southern Belle: Rogue. You're beautiful, charming and tough as nails, but you've got a romantic streak as wide as the white in your hair. Yup, it appears you've got it all, except for the fact that you have to keep people at arm's length all the time and then angst about it incessantly.

I've always loved Rouge, and not just for the truly cool hair.


So, this weekend was actually a lot of fun. Friday night we got to see DaVinci's Notebook in concert at a NoVA High School. I laughed and laughed so hard. It's good to have those kinds of nights occasionally. Refreshing. Then we went back to Mel's new place, inertia overcame us and we didn't go back out to Kymber's and instead sat around and chatted until bedtime.

But, I seem to have a love-hate relationship with bad wallpaper. I love to tear it down. As Andrew and Sorcha will attest to, the first time I ever saw their lovely home, we hung out and chatted a bunch and then I started picking at the interesting wallpaper in the basement that was this funny white on off-white foamy stuff, previous owners must have been crackheads to install it. So, I kinda look up and say, Hey, do you mind if I start peeling the wallpaper down here? They didn't voice any concerns so I started full time picking all the wallpaper off the walls down there and then got out the bucket of soapy water to peel the underlayer off as well. When it was finally time for me to go home, I had completed the project and filled up the trash can with old paper, and unearthed nice plain white walls with a few ink and crayon markings but way better than the wallpaper. I woke up the next morning at home with truly sore arms, but it was all for a good cause and anything to amuse myself. I'm certain they have done something lovely to that room since then, that was just my contribution.

And Gen repeats herself. Over at Mel's, she shows us around and I look in at the hallway half bath. Mel, do you mind if I start peeling your wallpaper in here? You've already scored it... Again no objection, not that it mattered since I already started and half an hour later, all the first layer of wall paper was off the walls and I even unearthed some of the truly hideous really old stuff that got left around the sink. fascinating... Luckily for my arms I was too tired and needed to go to bed so I skipped the soapy water and removing the under layer as well. Sorry to leave the house with one more construction project Mel!

Saturday was tons of fun. We drove to the site, Mel, QPM and I, and chatted the whole way down. We arrived as soon as GOF did, so we unloaded the cars in almost one load. Then we marched on in, up to the Royal Room, which was the only thing on the second floor, and about as far removed from everything else as possible. Wow. We got dressed, and then meandered about after checking in at troll. We thought about doing shift work taking turns attending Queenie, but we were all having such a blast, why bother. And there was a distinct lack of couches in the Royal room for our use to nap, so best just to stay awake. The idea of having a Royal Brewer and Baker competitions in the same room was deadly and very yummy. We got to sample all sorts of baked goods (so bad for any diet) and critique them and try different versions of the same thing, and then sample some of the alcohols. Wow. That kept us amused for hours. :) We also went and looked at the pentathalon and triatholon stuff, lots of really superb projects out there. Keeping up with the theme of gluttony, I tried Guiliana's and Clare's white tortas, and I must say that Guiliana's was better tasting. At least I thought so. The competition was stiff, but Jake won, which was not terribly surprising. Isobel's display was truly awe inspiring. She had this huge notebook of documentation talking about everything from the clothes they wore, to the linens, pottery, glassware and pewter on the table, to the food available, to past times. It was very well done. And they let us borrow their screen for setting up court to make it pretty. We tried deparately to make the place look a little less like a computerized auditorium using cloaks to cover up the desk up front, and hanging the wall right behind the King, Queen, and Herald, and also using the stands to hang the banners. Very cool indeed, so I thought. Then again, I'm probably biased.

I didn't get to see and spend time with as many folks as I would like to due to normal queen-following and then court prep madness and such, but I wasn't bored. I did get to briefly see Caitlin in her lovely blue and green outfit, and chat briefly with Kitten and Brighid, and Dred who (despite his... ahem... elevated state) has been doing some really fabulous jewelry lately. Man, he's come a long way baby. The weaving lady from Marinus, who's name starts with an M but is something hard to pronounce, had a great display of spinning, weaving and sewing with final product. Wally's display kicked major butt too. Also, Liam would have been so proud to see Elisse's display for the Triatholon, because it included her S-hook she made with his portable forge. Overall, this KA&SFest was way better than last year, but was also not great. The layout was a bit odd and awkward, and too spread out. Truly nothing yet has matched the first KA&SFest for me, which is what I aimed for, but really it all depends on the space given and what artisans show up to display. I never found the non-competition display room at all.

Afterwards, the girls went out to dinner and drinks before heading out separate ways. We stopped at a Ruby Tuesday, where the waiting room was crowded and moved on to a quick accidental detour to a post office parking lot to then end up in a Applebee's bar waiting for our table. Bonnie, Caroline, Mel, Tara and I had a ball, only torturing our waiter a little bit, and just in general chatting girl talk til it was time to get on the road. Must do more of those. :) Then it was on the road driving in the pouring rain for the trek home. I must say doing almost 70 the entire way down 29, going maybe 60, due to the rain, on the way back was less than fun and made progress slow, but we arrived home safe and all in our original pieces. Home. Bed. Good. paint fumes were eh, but bearable.

Sunday I was woken up at 9:30am by the hammer closing a paint lid. grr... snarl... Spent Sunday early afternoon cleaning up the last little bit of the basement, cleaning behind the Washer and Dryer (funk that had not been disturbed in 10 years) was less than inspiring, and we got the last bit of painting done. Yay. I'm so tired of the basement. I hate the basement. I loathe the basement. I don't want to spend anymore time in that damn basement... I missed Trading Spaces for it. Watched Grosse Pointe Blank on Sunday night, quite an enjoyable flick. Sick and twisted, sweet and romantic. John Cusak, yay!

Kirsten comes in on Wednesday night to stay with us while she does work stuff downtown. Must clean the den tonight to make it habitable, and maybe get the futon out of the back of my truck. Somehow I never got inspired to move it on the rainy saturday night, all day sunday or last night. sigh. Must also tidy the house around Buffy tonight. Xander and Anya's wedding!!! yes, it's sad, I love the show, can't help it. I'm a sucker for blondes killing vamps...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next