Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

candy frustrations and new toy
2002-02-26 - 5:25 p.m.

These afternoon fevers have got to stop. Hey, wait, didn't I have this same problem this time last year? WTF? If I'm smart enough to take Vitamin I as soon as it hits, and if I am brave enough to suffer through, I'm usually okay by quitting time. Odd. It is making my afternoons a bit more loopy mind you.

So, this past weekend was fun. Overall a good time was had by all. "Today man" autocratted. My suggestion, next time ask for list fence further in advance of the day before. Just an idea. Also, for the flower tourneys, it is better to use roses and carnations. Pinks (I think that is what carnations were called) are a very period flower and have some special signifigance. (AoD, know the specs?) They are seen in portraits all the time. The tulips and lilies were lovely, really they were, but they wilt too soon after being out of water, that beyond the initial gift, they don't last. Carnations and roses can be cut and out of water a while before they show wilting. Just an idea from the peanut gallery. I was just a tad saddened that the one flower I was gifted was too wilted to take home at the end of the day. Luckily I had some red carnations at home I had bought and put in a red vase just to brighten things up.

Just to give you guys a taste of my day at the event, check this sequence of pictures out, many thanks to Kenny for taking them.
(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7)
sorry guys, they are large and in charge, even on my 21" monitor...


Last night I made a Home Depot run and a swing by Target, where I resisted many possible purchases and only got what was on the list and a few minor impulse items. :) I got paint chips so we can start to try to match up some of the weird colors in the house for touch up painting. That green in the den is like nothing else I can find, and the mustard in the dining room is proving to be unique too. I also snagged Grosse Pointe Blank on VHS cheap, a movie I have never seen but comes highly recommended by others. It's a John Cusack movie, so hard to go wrong.

Here's a funny picture. On my way out of work, knowing that I need a snack since shopping is happening, I decide to use my last dollar in the snack machine on some peanut M&Ms, my favorite. I hate it, absolutely hate it when the bag gets stuck in the machine curly catch. Bastards. Of course this happens to me, and I have no other change to just buy two bags of M&Ms and be done. Of course, this is a new vending machine, specially made that you can't rock it forward and back, thereby risking toppling it on top of yourself and making yourself into a pancake. Okay, if I was 6'4", I might have been able to rock it, but my short self was having quite a time of it. I try to play it cool the few times facilities staff walk by, but otherwise am bludgeoning this bastard of a machine. But, occasionally Gen is smart. Since I can't rock it back and forth I try to shake it by sliding it side to side. Minimal success, but I do see it moving and having some effect. So I decide to slam the candy machine against the Pepsi machine beside it. After 5 tries, each more violent than the first, finally my M&Ms are released with no noticable dents in the Pepsi machine. Eh, I like Coke better anyway. All in all, it was too much damn work for some stupid candy, let me tell you, but the fact that I went through all that instead of giving up shows how my mind was obviously not working quite right.

When I got home my new Palm had arrived in the mail, whooohooo!!! I did a very uncharacteristic move and actually sat down and read/skimmed the manual and other literature before even opening the device itself and putting in the batteries. I couldn't wait to get to work, hook it up to the PC and try it out. Of course, I go and leave the Install CD at home, but no worries since I can download it off the Palm Website for free. I think I'm all golden and then when I try to sync it up with my Netscape address book, all I get is the first four entries. WTF?? I try saving the entire address book as a text file to import into the palm desktop software, to no avail. grrr. snarl. The addresses are there, I can find them, but the address book has this bad habit of crashing netscape when I try to find entries. This is getting really irritating. I reinstall Netscape 4.77, doesn't help. Now, I love Alan, Keigan, Rhiannon and Keilyn, but I want more than just their four names in my damn palm. Of course, my old Palm Pilot is soooo old it doesn't have the IR port to beam info from old palm to new palm. This is beginning to look like one hell of a data entry job. Any body got any suggestions? It's not the palm software, it's gotta be my netscape, and I guess I could try upgrading to Netscape 6.2, but I already have 6.0, don't like it and not certain my addressbook would carry over. Maybe this is all a conflict in the two versions of Netscape screwing up my addy book. So, for the first 15 entries so far I have read them off the old palm screen and manually typed them into the new palm desktop software. sigh. Not something I want to do for the entire address listing, I'm only in the C's...

To add to the woes in general, my poor boss Barb seems to have done something to her ankle. It now no longer looks ankle shaped, but rather grapefruit shaped instead. This is not good, so we finally convince her to go to the radioligist and get it xrayed and got to doc to at least get a splint. Ice it when she gets home to make the swelling go down. I offer to pull her Rodeo around so that she doesn't have to hobble around the parking garage and up the stairs or take the chance that they have fixed the elevator that was not operational this morning. (I have little faith in facilities, but to my surprise it was working.) I hope she's okay.

Tonight starts a series on the History Channel about Elizabeth I at 9pm. This is convenient as I can watch Buffy at 8pm, and Bess at 9pm. Don't know if I will make all the episodes, yes Theo I can hear you "Learn to program your VCR"...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next