Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

productive weekend and other non sequitors
2002-01-29 - 3:45 p.m.

Reading the Washington Post Sunday Magazine, I found out that there is a Three Dog Bakery in Bethesda, MD. How cool it that? I only knew of the one in New Orleans on Royal Street since we went in there last year for Laura to get Remmi treats for Tara, and I of course, could not resist the "Will Fetch for Treats, Three Dog Bakery" t-shirt for Cuan. I was hoping the shirt would humble him, instead he loves it, go fig. It is terribly cute on him. Must make sure Tara and Kirsten know so they can pamper Remmi and Maxi all the more.

Friday night was a wonderful lazy evening out with a small group of friends. First of all, to address my previous post, I left work a smidge early and went to the chiropractor who not only adjusted my neck and back, but also did something to my wrists and elbows that totally rocked. Relieved the acute pain and only left the sore tight muscles, but really, he's not a massuese. Love the Chiropractor. But afterwards I napped briefly and then went to Royal Mile Pub in Wheaton MD with Alan, Wen and Rob and met Bob and Laura there. The food was yummy, we didn't have to wait too long considering the place is always packed on the weekends, and I did at least get to color in a Barbie coloring book while we waited. The one thing about Royal Mile that bugs Laura is that the Scotch Egg isn't made with real English sausage, which is apparently much smoother and finer ground and differently spiced than the fennel sausage they use. My one problem is that the Welsh Rarebit (pronounced Rabbit) is made as an appetizer rather than as the intended dish. Main difference is the tomatos on top of the cheesy sauce or underneath. I've actually made a stab at making Welsh Rarebit for myself, and it wasn't too bad of a job if I do say so myself, but no one makes it as good as Jer does. So, we had a lovely evening out that ended a little early since I think we were all tired.

Saturday I slept in nice and late, woken up a few times by the light thump thump thump thump of squirrels chasing each other on the roof. Kinda cute when you think about it and roll back over and go back to sleep. Then I got up and did laundry, tidied up a bit, and actually organized and neatened the linen closet. So now all the sheets are folded neatly and the pillowcases are on one side with sheets on the other and only the neat folded edge facing forward and the sheets all color coded so that there are nice solid colors between the few prints. I also took out all the towels and took the extraneous ones downstairs and did the gucci-martha stewart roll up the towels to display them thing in the linen closet. As Pavla pointed out, folks will look in closets and they must be neat. Possible buyers must see usuable space, not too crowded.

Then I tried on my elizabethan that I haven't worn in ages, pouted at being too fat, whined about my bad skin and generally thru a nice sized hissy fit about going to the Gardener's Yule Revel and how everyone will laugh at me. Alan, in his infinte wisdom and playing the role of social valium again, told me I looked lovely and maybe a nap would make me feel better. So I took a nap and afterwards felt the guilt of ruining Alan's fun, realized I really did want to see a bunch of friends that I don't get to see too often in the SCA, and more importantly figured out that if I didn't go I wouldn't get rid of those gingerbread cookies I made on Wed, and if they stayed here, I'd only eat them all and get even fatter... so we got dressed and went. Of course, I will note here that a couple of layers of cartrige pleated skirts, bodice with tabs and corset are meant for sitting upright in chairs without arms and lower back support. They are not meant for wearing while riding in a truck for an hour. pout.

All in all it was a lovely evening, even if I was slightly out of spirits, we got to see T-bone and little Sarah and I even did some Sarah herding, which presented a little problem in a too-small corset, but nothing I couldn't overcome. The food was delicious. Several of the boys ate the spinach pie thinking it was mince, and man was it good, even if afterwards they were wondering how they managed to eat spinach heartily. My favorite surprise was the beet pie, not being a fan of beets, this was very very good. Then I got to sit and play cards (Primero) with Anna, Elizabeth, and Robert, and for a short time Nathanial. I find I'm pretty good at cards, especially if there is fake coins to win. Although in the end I believe Anna and Elizabeth took much of Robert's and my money, but it was all in the name of fun, and so it was. Afterwards we went back to Jimmy and Sandy's and sat around in comfy clothes and looked at pictures of prior Bandes events, including the absolutely hilarious recruitment photos. Very silly indeed, sweetie darling...

Sunday I discovered a true joy. Part of the laundry I did on Sat. was strip the bed and place the new cotton flannel sheets on it. Oh my god. I had slept on flannel sheets while visiting Corby and Thjora's and they were nice, but let me tell you, there is nothing that compares to flannel sheets on your own already comfy bed. I swear, I didn't need any extra help staying in bed, and these things are not helping. Of course, I am so snuggly at night now that I sleep very soundly and wake up actually refreshed in the morning. But, I wonder how it'll be on a rainy morning? See, unlike Tricia, who likes waking up to rainy mornings, my reaction to rain on the windows and/or roof is to roll right back over and snuggle deeper into bed. I fear that the flannel sheets will not facilitate getting out of bed on rainy mornings.

Thankfully once I did finally escape the flannelly goodness, I was quite productive. After Trading Spaces, I was off doing more laundry, tackling the mound of clean and not put away clothes in the bedroom, cleaning off my dresser, moving furniture, getting the papa san chair out of the bedroom (so I don't get tempted to stack more clothes on it) and the wicker love seat into the bedroom. Mind you this took a little more work than I bargained for, but all in all, it turned out well, even if I did have to temporarily remove the handrail to get it upstairs. One of the things the realtor suggested was to define dressing space, sleeping space and sitting/relaxing space. So the wicker love seat is upstairs as a stage for reading by lamp light in the bedroom. ( Yeah, like in reality we wouldn't be in bed or down near the fridge, but whatever.) The bedroom looks pretty snazzy with those small changes if I must say so myself. Still need to vacuum all over instead of the spot vacuuming I did, and eventually get the futon to storage, but on the whole, marked improvement.

This also gets the wicker love seat out fo the living room which was a bit crowded anyway. I pushed the cedar chest, that we've been using as a coffee table, to the space where the wicker was to help hide the plug and open up the space even more. So we are short on seating in the living room for the time being, but it does look bigger. Much bigger. Later I swifted the floors and such to just tidy up the rest of the house a bit.

Monday, to continue my productive streak, I put in a reservation for a storage unit so we can start offloading some of the extraneous stuff we need to remove to make the house look not so crowded. I also swung by Costco and got us some supplies and a packing tape dispenser which will come in handy real soon I think. Then I ran by Giant to get those things Costco was lacking and picked up a chicken for dinner, yummy chicken. Then once I got home and we unloaded and had dinner, Alan and I started loading in Scarlett the first load of stuff to take to the storage unit. Oh my, watch us go. I went and signed all the papers and made the payment and everything for the storage space this morning before work. Took a little longer than I had hoped, but oh well. And then I got to load the first batch of stuff in, like the Xmas decorations, the bench/box, the folding metal chairs, the large pictures I got on a cruise I took with family a while ago that have no place in the current house (small walls) and the Papa San chair components. Whahootie!

Tonight I might go through the piles of bridal magazines and other info and either organize it, decide to keep and store it, or throw them out. If I go through the magazine and don't find something to cut out for my collage, then I assume it is trash. No really, I feel no need to push 2 or more year old bridal magazines onto another unsuspecting bride to be. Sigh, I love my friends, I love my friends... Tonight should be down time.

So, what's coming up for you in the near future?
Glad you asked. Here's my wonderful schedule:

1/30
Tracie's Birthday and Wen's filing party.
1/31
Meeting with prospective photographer, and then Last Chance
2/1-2/3
University of Atlantia, time with Corby and Thjora
2/5
appointment at Bridal salon to pick up prize of crystal candlesticks and look at something other than David's Bridal. You never know. :)
2/6
Meeting with a possible caterer, yum!
2/8-2/11
Tourney of Ymir, pray for sun, pray for sun... and hopefully not too cold, but not too warm either. My aren't I picky?
2/16
A blissful free weekend, oh mi god, how wonderful!
2/23
Ponte Alto Anniversary and Investiture, Kevin cooking, gonna be there!
3/1
last day to order wedding invitations
3/2
KA&SFestival, perhaps day trip to preserve Sunday for work.
3/11-3/18
GULF WARS!!! and no tent, nice dry cabin... I wonder if Thomas of Calias has ever tried the breath-rite strips for stopping snoring while sleeping?
4/6
Coronation, whew... :)

Have found four more boxes at work to pack fabric into. yay!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next