Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

gingerbread and wedding planning hell
2002-01-24 - 12:05 p.m.

Okay, I'm slack, sorry, over a week with no entry. sorry. Yeah, right, like you all really care. Wait, this is my diary, why the hell am I apologizing to you!?! Then again, if I apologize regularly to inanimate objects, I guess my readers deserve an apology too.

So, counting back, last night I made cookies, with the help of Wendy and her kitchen lovely gingerbread cookies. These are for the Gardener's Yule Revel on Saturday, and Sandy asked us to bring gingerbread and so, gingerbread will be brought. For those of you who know me, know that I am not a cook. I can be a decent sous chef when needed. I actually like working in a kitchen with someone where they tell me to do this, clean this, chop this, blah blah blah. But come up with a plan all my own? You gotta be kidding. No way. So, Theo is very kind, she lets me come over and use her kitchen and materials and I only have to buy that which she does not have on hand. This is a very sweet deal for me. And with Theo's guidiance, use of tools, and a bit of ingenuity (the evaporated milk can is about the right size circle you want), gingerbread cookies were created. Of course, it is me, and I am silly, so I had to cut out some heart shapes, a token ginger-bard , some hedgehogs and some duckies before cutting out plain boring circles. The weird cookies are on the bottom so Sandy doesn't spaz at ducky cookies at a Period Evening. Can't really blame her if she did, but then again she puts up with Jimmy, so Woman of Infinite Patience would be her superhero name. But, Sandy's patience aside, I made cookies last night. Rah me! Of course, I seemed to always be slamming the cabinet doors, not really, maybe they are lighter than I am used to, or something, but I kept slamming them, and then apologizing to them, which amused Theo tremendously I suppose.

Work has been pretty busy, so not too much extraneous time for reading diaries and writing my own. I think I'm caught up so far for those on my list, but I have a bunch of folks not on may favorites that I still check in on occasionally, and I still need to finish reading those. But I did take time to take that Color test, despite my attempt to swear off personality tests. This one was surprisingly intense, I had a hard time answering most of the questions, except where the answer was "flighty". :) No huge surprise, I am primarily Yellow, the Fun Lover, but a very close second was the White, Peacekeeper. Both parts are rather conflicted actually. Fun loving and boring, irresponsible and agreeable, all sorts of crazy things that applied in one and the other, but not all of both, obviously... That and the stupid little chick on the display image bothers me. It just doesn't compare to the swan, cardinal and peacock. What, are they trying to say? That we are all Peter Pan's who don't want to grow up? Just cause we like to have a little fun? Might as well put Big Bird up there. Canaries are yellow and chipper, happy, carefree. Why couldn't we have gotten a canary instead. oh well, you will notice the lack of a graphic for this test, and the lack of a link. :) I don't even like the color yellow, but oh well, I guess it's not about what you like, but what you are.

So, other activities of this weekend. Friday and Saturday were spent taking care of looking in on and waiting around for Alan. He had minor surgery, so I took the day off on Friday, took him to the hospital, used the waiting time to read more in Memnoch, and then took him home and fetched perscriptions and soup, etc. And, yes, I did feel a little strange reading Memnoch the Devil in the waiting room of a Catholic hospital, but likely no one noticed. Saturday we bummed around the house big time, I don't think we stepped out of doors at all aside from putting up the flag and taking it down. We just watched movies and watched the snow, and napped and read and it was lovely. We even ordered Pizza for dinner, tipping the nice delivery man for coming out in the snow for us.

Sunday was bridal showcase hell with Gina, as well as a stop at the David's Bridal in Rockville. First of all, the showcase was packed, not surprisingly, but it reminded me of that Twelfth Night held in Marinus the first time Logan was on the throne and Bera was Princess. The merchants were pushed to the hallways, so passage was made nigh impossible. That is the event where a severe hatred of hoop skirts was born in me. So, for those that were there, think of that 12th Night, and then think of having no common area at all and only the merchants to visit and then being accosted by some merchants as you try to slink by and then having to wait behind some large woman in a hoopskirt to get to the one merchant you want to see. That's what this bridal show was like. I even saw some poor grooms in tow at this thing as oppossed to brides' bringing their friend, or mom or coordinator. Poor guys.

But, as helacious as it was, we got to sample some food, cake, chocolates, and pick up lots of information and I found a photographer (who was not only very nice and familiar with Oakland, he was in my price range.), a florist (who I still need to call) and options for a caterer. I still need to call around to those and see if we can set up an appointment to talk to them about pricing, options and availability. Gina asked why I was so concerned with food since I likely won't get the chance to eat any of it, I said I want my friends to enjoy it. Of course, really, it's all about trying in vain to stay in budget. Notice the "In Vain" part of that. I'm trying, boy am I trying. (Alan probably thinks the same thing sometimes...)

Afterwards we got lunch and then went to David's Bridal to look at more dresses. We found a few more, and one that might just be the one. Had lots of plusses to it, main minus was the cost. I hate it when stuff is just barely out of budget, because then you start to think what you can sacrifice to make this piece work at the cost it is. :( So, I'll need to figure that out soon, because the second choice is a special order that must be done 12 weeks in advance and I'm at 18 weeks. And that doesn't count having the dress in time for a portrait, if I go that route. Oh, and I also figured out the perfect wedding favor for our wedding, and after thinking about it and looking and prices and all that jazz, I come to find that it won't be available until September, and I am majorly bummed. Must come up with another plan, it's tough to try to be creative and inexpensive, and not tacky. Oh well, enough with this wedding shit, I know it has got to be boring everyone to tears. Needless to say, I would have been lost without Gina. Absolutely lost and behind.

So, Monday we caught a noon showing of LotR at Snowden and didn't have to sit in the front row and caught even more details this time around. Then after a mid afternoon meal, I dropped Alan off at home and went to sit with Theo while she played at the machine and show her the wedding stuff from Sunday that I had acquired. I even got to look at her wedding photo albums and stuff too. She points out that the good thing about living and marrying in a small town is that it is pretty much set who will do what for your wedding. Oh, wait, I said no more wedding stuff, sorry. There I go apologizing again...

Oh, so on a more amusing note, before January is over... the Despair, Inc. :-( 2002 demotivator calendar has a very special January:


Everyone has one of these in their world. Some may be unfortunate enough to have two, or to be one.

Also, don't forget the wonderful BitterSweets(TM) offered by those folks at Despair.com who have your misery in mind this Valentine's Day.

Well, off to Kevin's for dinner tonight, which should be lovely. I really hope that Jason and Shannon make it, since I don't get to see them nearly often enough. While rifling thru old box of photos, I did find pics from their wedding, ah sweet memories...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next