Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

squirrely musings
2002-01-08 - 5:26 p.m.

Ah, another day, another silly stupid meaningless quiz, and yet, too cute for words... This one is care of Deedee:

Yummy, so tasty!

Take the "What kind of Squirrel am I Test!"

sadly this test only works in IE... fricking MS, egocentric bastards... grrr...

Theo says that a group of squirrels is called a scurry. Tee hee hee, a scurry of squirrels!

I'm Harmony Bunny, watch me bounce into action on my pogo stick... Eh, I guess you had to be the hotel room to understand, right Liberty Bell?

So, something I've been pondering lately, critique. How do you help someone who doesn't ask for your help, and maybe doesn't even think they need it? Sticky situation, especially in the SCA. There is this unwritten rule that if your opinion is not asked for, don't give it. I meant in the A&S realm, obviously all sorts of jerks are great at giving their own stupid opinions here and there and everywhere willy nilly, but in the A&S world, critique is rarely given out unless specifically asked for. But the problem is that there is someone who fancies themself a costumer, and apparently thinks there stuff is really good, but I have to question it. Just a quick glance and I could pick up on 10 or so things that if they had done would have made the outfit go from sort of okay and period looking (although what period I'm not sure), to fabulous and worthy of praise. But, my opinion hasn't been asked, so therefore it is not given. But the thing is that do they not know that they screwed up here and there? Do they know they screwed up but are waiting for advice? Or do they want my help/advice but not know how to ask for it? Am I a big scary bitch and hard to approach? Or do they simply not know that in this tiny little particular area I know a little bit that could help them out? sigh...

If you have questions about what you are making, trust me, you will save yourself and others lots of frustration if you ask questions before the whole thing is said and done. Most folks are ready and willing to help, but you gotta ask for it. Otherwise they assume their opinion and advice is not wanted.

Well, that was sage and likely useless. I wonder who I irritate by doing stuff wrong but I don't know about it and they are dying to give me their advice and help but don't know how? There must be someone...

So, I saw lots of really cool 14th cent garb at 12th Night, many little Ragnarr clones which was terribly amusing, lots of nice cotehardies, 10 gores, G63's etc. The peerage candidates fit the time frame very nicely too. Did everyone get to see Colin's embroidered G63? I bet no one is in doubt of Sir Captian America's arms at this point. tee hee hee. Gina and and Kirsten did a great job of outfitting several folks for 12th Night this year. I think Thjora broke her record of outfitting folks for 12th Night. She made outfits for 7 folks and a vigil tunic. wow. Gina did quite a few folks too. At least Sir Christian's lady Elena made her own first dress, a cotehardie in time for the event. Mad props to her. I'm sure you all noticed the stunningly attractive brunette on Sir Christian's arm. No not the Queen he danced with, the other stunningly attractive brunette, his wife. :)

well, now that my brain is officially not working, I guess it is quitting time.

Oh, but first, to all those folks who gave me Twelfth Night presents, thank you sooo much. I am declared a bum and haven't ever given out Twelfth Night presents, and unless I get super crazier than I already am, I'm not likely to either. I truly thank everyone who thought of me and gave me a little something, you folks rock. Please accept my most sincere appreciation and gratitude for it is all I have to offer. :)

luv you guys!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next