Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Tori quiz and Xmas funk
2001-12-12 - 11:17 a.m.

Thanks to Cesca:



BTW, quizes only work in IE, not Netscape. And, pretty darn scary. As much as I talk, most of it nonsense of course, I've always ID'd with Silent All These Years. spooky.

Last night I started reading Anne Rice's Memnoch the Devil. I figured I should read something vaguely adult after the HarryPotter onslaught, and after watching Interview with a Vampire last Wed. I remembered that I liked those books my freshman year of college and wanted to re-read them, but since I can't find them, I just started on book 5 of the series since Alan has it. Pretty good so far, although it's not as fast a read as HP, but it's not geared towards 14 year olds either. :) I watched Buffy, and even though it was a rerun from last season, it was great. They showed the "Gentlemen" episode where the majority of the show there is no dialog since their voices are stolen. Very well done! I was gonna just turn it off or watch something else, but hey, that is such a great episode that I had to watch.

I also tried to write Xmas cards last night. I failed. I couldn't get in the spirit. I wrote names on the envelopes, but couldn't even get my Palm out to write down the addresses. Pitiful. I need to go out and buy more cards too. I haven't done hardly any shopping, but I did make a prelim list and need to do my online purchases today to ensure they get where they need to go. Something like 13 days left. argh!

Good thing about today is that my boss gave us all Despair, Inc. calendars again this year. This has got to be one of the best ideas in the world, demotivators. Pure genius to capitalize on those employees who are resigned to being unhappy at work, or those who simply find them maniacally amusing. I can't wait till January now to start a new page on the calendar. Forgot to mention, this month is

Bitterness:
Never be afraid to share your dreams with the world
Because there's nothing the world loves more than the taste of really sweet dreams

picture of a lovely sandcastle being washed away by the waves.

Tonight is another Shakespeare Theater play with Wen and Rob. Poor Mel has to reschedule since she is working nights. I'm hoping we can survive prolonged exposure to Wen and Rob unscathed. Tonight they are doing Hamlet, good old classic, and the guy who is playing Hamlet reminds me lots of David Hyde Pierce, Niles from Frasier. He's great. Can't wait. Of course that means dressing up slightly because I don't care that we are going to go sit in the dark, you can't wear jeans and a t-shirt to the Shakespeare Theater. So I have taken the opportunity to wear my new knee high boots I bought back near Halloween at Target. They are comfy and wonderful and seem to work pretty well with the long slinky red silk skirt, black sweater, garnet and silver bracelet and even black pearls. Yes Virginia, Gen can coordinate when necessary. :) I've been torturing the stuffedanimalmolestingtard all day, GOF hasn't noticed. eh, like I care, but usually he's pretty quick on picking up on stuff like that. If I had really wanted to torture the boys I would have worn a short skirt today. Maybe later. But before the play we have a Loki U party from 3-5 today. Everyone gets a gift for attending and some door prizes will be handed out. I'm all about the free food and free stuff. I'll tell you guys all about it tomorrow undoubtedly.

I realized last night that one of the things that has me down this Christmas is that my favorite Xmas albums, the Very Special Christmas, I only have on tape, and now I have no way to listen to them. No tape deck in Scarlett, no tape deck with stereo in house, don't spend enough time upstairs to use the box up there. I guess I could borrow Rhett, but really. I should just go and get them all on CD, but that would require braving the stores. sigh. I've programmed in 97.1 to try and force myself to listen to Xmas music to get in the mood, but it's not happening just yet. Maybe I've caught them at off times when they play stuff I either don't like or am not familiar with. I wonder if I could get Kenny and Dolly's Once Upon a Christmas album on CD? That is a remnant from my childhood I'll never forget, even though I hate all other country music. Perhaps my funk started when my Holiday season got off to a bit of a blech start. 'Casue the last thing anyone needs during the holidays is folks, especially friends, giving them grief over presents. Eh, it'll pass. :)

I just wish they'd quit playing sad muzak in the hallways at work. They played that song, I wanna hold you 'til I die, 'til we both break down and cry, I wanna hold you till the fear in me... Like folks need sad music around the holidays.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next