Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Secret Santa Snafu...
2001-12-11 - 5:33 p.m.

Well, last night, after work I ran around getting the pieces of my work secret santa gift collected. Since he doesn't read this, I have no qualms about posting it here. We do the secret santa pull thing and then send around emails of ideas of stuff we'd like so that person who already has ten random smelly candles they never burn won't get one more. Well, my guy said he likes beer. I'm complying. I even get creative. Inspired by Theo's beer bunnies that she made one Easter, I got three different six packs of beer to take two of each and leave the rest for Alan, and individually wrapped them. I wrapped the two beers each in coordinating paper so he'd be able to figure out that the purple paper ones were the same and whatnot. So after I wrap the indiviudal beers, I wrap the little 12pack sized cooler I got as the wrapping. It's cute, portable, and useful, especially for a guy who likes beer. Fits a 6pack easy when you lie the beers on their sides. Have you ever tried to wrap a cooler so that it is decorative and yet still able to be opened and closed and such? Let me just say it ain't easy. I wrapped the bottom bit of it, don't flip the handle up after wrapping, it is a bitch to get back in place under the paper. grrr... I then wrapped the top sufficiently so that it would still close and be sealed, but the paper would stay on. I must say, I out did myself. It was terribly cute.

So then what happens? My stupid secret santa has to call in sick today. Now of all days to call in sick, one where the boss is treating everyone to lunch and one where you are likely to get a present and you have to give a present would be the day to not call in sick. It's made worse by the fact that this guy must be having some weird health issues since he calls in sick something like 1-2 days a week, if not more. hmmm... should have expected this. So the end result is that the entire group does not get to ohhh and ahhh over my superb gift giving skills and wrapping and two of our number had to go without getting presents at the great gift exchange. Truly sucky. But I got a cute little teddy bear in a green fleece jacket and hat with some yummy mixed nuts from my santa, so all was not terrible. And there was also the lovely new boss buying us all lunch thing that really made the day. So, even though I put ice in with the beers in the cooler, I shove it in the fridge and leave it for later. I threatened to just give his present to one of the folks who were left out by the sick people not being there. I think those who got left out are pondering a pound of flesh right now instead. It sucks to be left out.

So, I was wrapping everything while watching TV last night. I was kinda bummed that instead of Farscape on at 8pm on SciFi, there was something else. Hello? I want my Farscape. Of course 8pm M-Th is bad timing since I miss so many episodes that way. I sort of watched King of Queens and The Ellen Show while chatting with Alan instead until Angel came on. There is a part of me that is wondering if they are gonna do a big Harry Potter-esque thing with the baby and the scar on his cheek thing. We shall see. I just hope they don't do the classic thing that TV does and get the kid to a charming age of 8 and then overnight turn him into a 15 yo sex machine. Soap Operas suck that way. Mind you, I don't think Angel will last 15 years, but you get my drift. Tonight I am looking forward to Buffy.

So, last night I finished up Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I only had 2 chapters left anyways. Great book, can't wait for Year 5. I still liked Book Three the best so far. Now I need to borrow Book 4 on CD from Theo to listen to during my commute. Makes driving much more enjoyable. Much more.

So, I'm thinking the family is getting gift certificates this year, all except the neices of course. They will be sent huge boxes of gifts to plough through on Christmas day. Gift Certificates mail easily, shows about as much thought as the rest of my family puts into gift giving and takes some stress off as to color choice and all that madness. I guess I should start shopping soon. No idea what to get friends or Alan either. Usually I love Xmas, and this year I am looking forward to the season, but I don't want to shop. Does that make any sense? This year will of course be very different, just Alan and I and our friends who stay in the area. Should be fun.

And yet, even after reading all the wonderful Xmas traditions that other d*landers are telling, I'm still not in the Christmas spirit yet. :( oh well, give it time. I have faith I'll come around.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next