Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Narcissistic? Me?
2001-12-10 - 6:05 p.m.

You're so vain, I bet you think this diary is about you...

Wait, it's my diary, it is all about me. So, today I have been showing my peacock tendancies. Every mirror, window, glass framed art and any shiney surface I have stopped to look at my reflection. I've been to the bathroom several more times today than are normal for the sake of the big mirrors. I'm like Narcisus, drawn to at least check my reflection. How totally lame. For someone not terribly attractive, I have been extremely vain today. Well, since I went and got my hair trimmed during lunch anyways. Hopefully it will pass soon. I'll be a traffic hazard looking at the mirror instead of the road. :)

Friday night we had a theme night. We went to a nice Italian Restaurant surrounded by Rat Pack posters and then went and saw Oceans Eleven. Never having seen the orginal, I thought it was pretty darn good. I hear that they changed the ending from the original. I thought it was quite good. I'm not a huge fan of Clooney, but he was typecast into a nice little slot this movie, I'd say. Then again, I'm not a terribly discriminating customer. I did think that Andy Garcia was great, but he's good at those mafia kind of roles.

Saturday, I got up earlier than one should on a Sat. and went to pay another visit to Beth's storage unit, which was high and dry even thru the torrent, and return most of her stuff to it. Still need to get the roof from Ernie, but we have a plan now. yeah, a plan...

Afterwards I went to assist Brian and MenG with the move from Burke to Columbia. All in all it went smoothly. The actual drive from NoVA to Columbia was a little more exciting than I had planned for (Brian!), but all in all, everything arrived safe and sound and in its original pieces. The only injuries that I came away with is a non-painful mysterious bruise on my right knee, and the small slice on my right middle finger from carrying one of the items of framed art that bit me. All in all I am healing fine and I have an excuse to wear some of the PPG bandaids that Gina's daughter Katie got me a while ago. :)

After the move, I went home, cratered in bed for a 2 hour nap and then got up and read for the rest of the evening. We were too lazy to cook or go out so we ordered chinese food for dinner. I got a fair ways in Goblet of Fire and very happy about it. Alan read Cryptonomican by Neal Stephens.

Sunday we were lazy and slow moving. We decided to go look at some houses that were advertised in the paper in our estimated price range and drove around the Pax river valley area just checking out neighborhoods and such. We did that until the daylight wanned and we made our way home. Then we headed out to dinner with BnL to this lovely Japanese Steakhouse, oh, great food and then to Clyde's for legendary Chocolate Mousse. It was really chilly on the bank of the lake. Afterwards at home I wanted to read one chapter in Harry Potter before hitting the hay, but one chapter blossomed into two or three, not really certain. I'm so close to the end I can taste it. must go home and read.... oh and other chores too. :(

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next