Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

blissfully uneventful unevent
2001-12-03 - 5:10p.m.

This weekend was one of the most fun I've had in a while, meetings not included. The drives were mostly pleasant, nice company. Although I will say that it is rude for the navigator to put in a CD that the driver isn't really acquainted with and then fall asleep. I suffered tolerably well thru the first hour, but when the second CD was put in that I had no clue about and everyone was asleep or quiet, I snapped. Luckily we were only 20 mins from our nice hotel room. Certainly I could have taken out the first CD earlier, but not knowing what was on it, I didn't know if I'd come to something I knew and liked or what. sigh. all is well. Although when it was my turn to be navigator I put in music that I knew the driver would like, or was specifically requested from the backseat. :) I'm a good navigator I am, I washed my face and hands before I come, I did.

Unevent was almost delightful. They were selling trees and wreaths so the air smelled fresh and green. I got to spend most of the time outside in the warm weather (it is December is it not?) going to five minutes of one meeting, and two other complete ones. Both bathrooms smelled horribly, so both sexes suffered equally except that a field house with additional potties only had the men's side unlocked. damn them...

Apparently Theo says that I disrupt her meetings. Me? Really? can you believe that? All by myself... shocking accusation I say. I was a good girl. I only taunted Francesca and Roland a little with my woven cord and picked on Saunooke a bit. If it was so important she could certainly take my MOL warrant away. That would mean I wouldn't have to attend her meetings anymore at Unevent. No really.... (big grin)

And I totally agree with what Jake's rant said. Sho 'nuff girlfriend! I'd also like to add that if you are going to be passing an item or several around the room for show and tell, please inform us if it is cat hair infested or not. please!!! At the end of the meeting, I had to go wash my hands up to my elbows. As it is I think I have broke out a bit on my face from that. grr... evil cats. I understand when folks get used to having their stuff covered in cat hair, but honestly! Have a little compassion.

Curia was short, too short. I didn't have a chance to decide where we were going to dinner. Mind you the fact that a certain stuffedanimalmolestingtard was behind me smacking me in the head with a rolled up catalog giving me a headache didn't help. I was ready to go back to the hotel, order pizza and soak in the tub. Luckily I approached the fountian of wisdom and local food, Mitake, and got the name of and directions to a lovely Chinese Buffet that was delightful. The food there rocked!! YAY Mitake!

Afterwards we headed back to the hotel stopping at a ABC store, and a grocery store to get booze before making our way back. Sadly, even though we all packed suits, we never made it down to the hot tub, just hung out and chatted until late and had fun. The Bera came up for a visit and we got to hang out a bunch for dinner, and later at the hotel, and she brought a futon so she just crashed on the extra floor space in our room, which we had plenty of. I asked her to be my maid of honor in my wedding this summer, and she agreed, and we went over the little bits of wedding plans I had made. BTW, planning a wedding is overrated. Trust me. Best day of my life, I'm sure, I absolutely can't wait, but still, I can understand why my little sister let/made my mom do all the work. :) It'll be lovely, I have faith.

Sunday we got up, moved slowly since we had plans for brunch with Tom and Dan at noon, so finally made our way downtown Durham to put our names in the line and get a nice table at Elmo's diner on 9th St. Afterwards we headed down 9th St. to get gelato at Francesca's and stopped at various cool downtowny stores along the way, buying all sorts of stuff. Playing in the sunshine and the stores, with everything from shoes to hair clips to devil duckies and magnets. We even eventually made it to Francesca's and only Tom, Dan and I got gelato, but others played in the toy store next door. yay! Eventually we meandered back to our cars and got on the road after farewells.

I convinced my travel companions to head west for the Bridal Mart is the Burlington Mall Outlet Center to see if I could find something. It was 45 mins the wrong way, but we had nothing but time and no burning need to get home too soon. Or course this was a mistake. Not horribly so mind you, we only wasted time and a little gas money, but still, this sad pitiful Bridal Mart had a very limited selection in my size, which I didn't think was so hideously huge, and the stuff they did have was truly hideous. It's places like this that make you want to sue for false advertising. Oh well. we called the boys and they came back from an equally disappointing experience in Burlington Coat Factory and we headed back north. Alan drove and I napped, I love naps. We made it back in town by 8ish and ate at the Outback Steakhouse before going home, repacking the car and unpacking into the house and crashing. Ah, a nice day of leisurely shopping and riding.

Note to self: Don't have a dram of whiskey before bed like Alan does. It'll only give you very weird and disturbing dreams. No, I'm not gonna tell you what it was, but it was weird and very disturbing.

Today I am sleepy, my eyes are dry and slightly bloodshot. I could have sworn I got sleep last night despite my dream, but maybe not. Perhaps now I will go home and get a quick nap. yeah, naps...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next