Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

multiculturalism
2001-11-19 - 2:45 p.m.

So, I love this multicultural world of ours. I walk down the hall to go visit the facilities and there is a lady, covered from head to toe, praying on her rug towards the East. She had actually just finished and was neatly folding up her rug to pack in her bag and I guess head off to class or something. I guess since I have so little concrete faith in my life, I love to see it in others.

But the thing that really gets me is that I never would have seen stuff like this in my home town. In Greensboro the Moravian church was exotic. Mind you, they sold the best sugar cookies at Christmas time... But here, I see folks of all nationalities and beliefs and customs everyday. I can drive up New Hampshire Ave and not only see your average Catholic, Methodist, etc. Protestant churches but there is a Ukranian Orthodox structure, a few mosques, a Buddist temple and even a new building that is very chinese in nature but not exactly sure of the denomination. All of these buildings are absolutely breathtakingly gorgeous, and I've never been inside where I am sure they are even more lovely. There is also the Mormon temple commonly called the "Elf Castle" that is an architechtural marvel. I mean none of these are Chartres Cathedral or nothing, but all lovely in their own right. And all of them have the beauty that they were not built for business or as a resturant of a way to earn money, but solely as places of worship. Inside those walls folks of all creeds pour out their hearts to a higher power searching for an answer, or help, or happiness, or simply just to be heard.

Wow, that was one hell of a tangent. I guess sometimes the multicultural nature of this area really hits me. I mean, I grew up knowing that America was a melting pot, but it never really hit me until I moved to the DC Metro area.


So, this weekend was quite entertaining. Friday night I entertained some futile hope that I might be able to catch a showing of Harry Potter. The suspense is still killing me. I went to go look in on Garibaldi and then picked up Alan to drive by the theater, gawk at the long line to buy tickets for showings, much less the longer line of folks, some wearing cloaks, to get into the theater. I sighed, resigned again, and went to pick up some jewelry wire at JoAnn's and then had dinner with Alan at Famous Dave's and then went home and watched Shrek on DVD. I think Alan was even amused by Shrek, since tired as he was he stayed awake throughout the entire movie.

Saturday had me up way earlier than I wanted to be, showered and off to the event in Stierbach for the Investiture. I confess that I missed the final court and most of the Investiture since Kymber and I were plopped down on the floor wrapping wire around fossilized shark's teeth to make them hangable. Once Kymber had done a few and I had followed her, it was easy to get the hang of.

ugh, gotta run, more later. suffice it to say it was fun.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next