Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Driving in DC...
2001-11-12 - 2:15 p.m.

Ah, what a wonderful relaxing weekend! It started with a trip to the chiropractor where I really had loosened up some so that he got more adjustment on me. ahhhhh.... Then Mike and Kirsten came up to visit us and we went to the Royal Mile pub for drinks and dinner, which was very yummy. Alan tried the special salmon tower, M&K got the very good fish ad chips and I got the classic beef and Guiness pie. I ate around the potatoes, and was still nice filled up. Then it was back to our place for lounging on the furniture and chatting until we all expired. bed was good.

Saturday morning, we woke up fairly early hoping to leave the house by 9 to make it to the museum by opening time at 10. As it was we got to the National Gallery of Art and into the Virtue and Beauty Exhibit. This was a fabulous exhibit, with ~40ish paintings from the Italian Renaissance, focusing on the years 1440-1540. Many of these paintings are seen in books but the joy and beauty of marvelling them in real life is indescribable. They also had a few cast bronze medals with profile portraits and three carved bust sculptures of lovely ladies. Makes me want to focus on Italian Ren stuff again. Haven't made anything to suit the new body, nor my new theory of construction. We then went down and got some lunch in the cafeteria that was really good, and then museum shop shopping, picking up a few Xmas presents, and heading back to the car. We tried to minimize our walking, which is tough to do in a museum since Alan's heels are still stiff and Mike's ankle was hurting.

Then we took the scenic route out of downtown DC following Massacheusetts Ave. and Embassy Row and then up Wisconsin Ave. to Rockville for some shopping at Old Navy. The drive and the weather was lovely! I hope that maybe sometime I can be a passenger on that drive since I missed most of the Embassies that we drove by. I negotiated Dupont Circle just fine, although since I was continuing on Mass. Ave, it wasn't nearly as difficult as getting lost on Dupont Circle with Wendy's help. (Once we exited too soon and once too late... sigh) After the pretty drive, a bit of shopping where Gen determined that her butt and body is definitely NOT suited for those low rise jeans, we headed back home for a bit of leisurely lounging about, a fairly long nap, and then Chinese takeout for dinner since we didn't want to drive far for dinner and nothing that involved a lot of walking. Take out it was! Then we just spent the rest of the evening in idle conversation, some periodic noses in our new book acquisitions, and just being lazy.

Now, while this might not sound like a great weekend to everyone, after a tough schedule of events and other things, it was ideal for relaxing, and maybe this time it will stick. I also finger wove two more medallion strings for the kingdom coffers since they have plenty of medallions, but not too many on strings. I can remedy that! At least make a dent in it anyways...

So Sunday was spent sleeping in fairly late, some pattern tracing for Kirsten and I, and Home Depot run for Alan, and the our house guests were off by noon so Gina and I could go Wedding site hunting. We found quite a few cool places, I randomly got inspiration for a theme for the wedding which could be really cool, so now it is all down to finding a site and making it all work in the budget. Almost a year after getting engaged am I finally getting down to making plans for everything. I now have a vision and hope I can make it all work. We shall see. After the great site hunt, I ran by to check on Garibaldi and he chatted a bit while I brought in the mail, added food to his dish and scooped out the litter box while holding my breath, and splashing some water on the plants. I then raced off to more relaxing at MacTonTonTon's house for her birthday party, which was laid back and more fun.

Ah, what a wonderful weekend. I need more like that.

anyway, I'm outtie, gotta run start into that pile of dirty clothes before it takes form and tries to escape...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next