Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

insane remoras
2001-11-08 - 4:03 p.m.

It is now the great November, yay! The work calendar, again from Despair.com, has a great and particularly appropo demotivator for this month.


It's Difficult to Comprehend How Insane Some People Can Be. Especially When You're Insane.

This is me. This is so me. sigh

So, speaking of my own insanity, I've been thinking about remoras lately. Yeah, I know, not the most popular topic to occupy one's mind, but still. They are kinda cool little beasties, Nature encouraging laziness by letting their dorsal fin adapt to a sucker. How weird is that? These little fish sucktion cup themselves to bigger fish, sharks, rays, etc. and just hitch a ride. But they aren't just hitching a ride, they are getting a free lunch too by eating the scraps that the big fish misses. They do help somewhat by eating parasites off the big fish, but they also eat some of their skin in the process. Dude! This is what one site had to say about them: Both the shark and the remora benefit from the pairing, but the remora benefits much more; this is commensalism. Here are some pictures of remoras just in case you have no clue what I am talking about. I think I have watched too much Discovery Channel in my little life. Stupid little suck-fish....

So, last night we went and saw Monsters, Inc. with Mel, Shane, Gina, Lauren, Katie, Wendy and Rob. This movie was down right side splitting. I laughed and laughed, oh my, it was good. I was a little bitter that I got paged in the middle of it so obviously missed the scene where the little guy says: Oh, sure, fine! Blame it on the little guy, with his ONE EYE!! Even though, it was still really funny. Might have to go see it again, this time hoping that I can make it all the way through. Mel lovingly picked up food for us from Chicken Out, and we ate on the benches in the theater, being excessively amused by the ice cream vending machine that uses the vacuum tube to suck the ice cream out of the freezer. I swear, it wasn't me that broke it! I got my Reese's bar out just fine. And it was good too!

So, I had to tell Shane the other day that there is a rule that you are not allowed to really think about Pennsic until after Twelfth Night. really, there is enough stress in the world, don't think about Pennsic more than 8 months in advance, you'll only wanna kill yourself. :) And we don't want that to happen, now do we.

Hey, so anyone out there good at or have any knowledge to impart regarding wire wrapping stuff to make a non-pendant like item into a pendant? Like in highschool folks used to wrap pretty stones in wire to make them into a pendant? Maybe that was just my little group though... so, anyone? anyone? Buler?...

I saw Legally Blonde on DVD at Wen and Rob's place when I picked them up for the movie. They also gave me the keys so I can make sure the plants are emptied, the kat is watered, and the litter box is fed. No wait, scratch that, reverse it; plants are watered, the kat is fed and watered and the litter box is emptied. yeah. that's it. I'm sure they have the upmost confidence in me. I swear, I won't kill the kat, only scare a very little. So, I saw the Legally Blonde DVD and might just have to borrow that sometime while they are away.

aliens must have eaten my brain...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next