Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Crown Saga
2001-11-07 - 4:32 p.m.

Thank god Crown is over. I was stressball extriodinare leading up to it, mostly my own damn doing. yup, that's me, creating my own problems. I kept on telling my chiropractor that a bunch of my stress and therefore some of the tension in my shoulders whould cease as of November 4th, and I was right.

So, my week started on last Tuesday night when I met QPM at the storage facility to pick up the Royal stuff that needed transporting down to Crown since her and Q were flying. I don't know what happy little dream world I was living in, but wow, that's a lot of stuff. All I can say is that if you plan on fighting and winning Crown, you better make sure one of you has a reasonably sized truck. I have no clue how Bera and I did a reign in my little Toyota Corolla, but we did manage. I distinctly remember being packed in tight, a bunch of little packages and very few big items. I remember only having one throne and while it wasn't terribly regal, it did break down nice and flat. Let's just suffice it to say that as the job has grown, so has the amount and size of stuff. yeesh!
This was the first time the Blonde was faced with the stuff and all it's massive glory all at once. Learning curve-step #1

Wednesday, I deemed as packing the truck night. Er, packing the big truck, Rhett, not Scarlett. We laid out all the stuff that needed to go in, and Alan and I heaved a collective sigh, and pulled out stuff that would either have to go with me in the other truck, or be left behind. Slowly, very slowly, piece by piece, we looked, and judged and between the two of us, packed the truck in an hour, packed it solid. Despite my doubts, we made it all fit. yay us! To celebrate we pulled in the candy bowl we left out for the kiddies, now empty, turned off the porch light, and went to Harry's for dinner, congratulating ourselves on a job well done. Mel was to pick up the truck on Thursday night.
I volunteer to take way more than the truck really should. Learning curve-step #2

Thursday, Shane gives me even more stuff to make fit in the truck, wait, didn't I say it was solidly packed already, well Q's armour can come out, which gave us a little more room... Also, Galmr dropped off a large carpet to go down with the royal stuff as well. I warned Alan that we had more stuff to put in, and to not just give the keys over to Mel just yet. So, I get home, and we pull out Q's armour and after packing the components of the Prince's box instead of the box itself, we made everything fit. We stand back, even more amazed than before, and then start to cram in all of Mel's stuff and additional other goodies. Shane, Gina and Katie in one car and Mel and Lauren (now dubbed "the Mute") in Rhett were driving down part of the way Thurs. night to Richmond to then make the other 6 hour leg of the trip on Friday morning. We thank them ever so much for this as this means the tents, Royal and mine, were set up in the daylight, and not by headlights after an 8 hour trip. wonderful!
When you think you are packed, there is always more stuff that needs to be crammed in. Learning curve-step #3

Please note that I have completely given up on sewing all the projects that I had planned to sew, cause really I determined that they just didn't matter, my sanity was way more important. Honest, I know that. So, I still haven't even started on James's G63, I only cut out my new girlie G63, and I only ironed and pinned down the bottom of the wavy stripe on QPM super special sideless. I handed the sideless off to Theo to hem in the car on the ride down and gave up ownership at that time.
No need to sew madly, it'll get done or it won't... Learning curve-step #4

Friday morning I pack all of my personal stuff into Scarlett, get to work, do three hours of work, with constantly changing passenger plans, until I leave at noon for a DR's appointment and filling of new RX's and then picking up passenger(s). It started out as me driving down by myself. Then Kelly wasn't going, so I was taking Oswulf and Henry. Then Os was sick, so not going either, or going but not fighting, and then all of a sudden Kelly and Os are both coming, just much later, and so it is Henry and I. (breathe) Now, Henry is a great guy, but I had never really spoken to him for more than 20 mins. and after my stressful week, brain was mush, conversation skills nill, and 8 hours of time to fill, and I had forgot to fill up the CD console, so limited, non-boy-friendly music available. We get on the road by 2:30 and make great time to get to site by 10pm, including a quick dinner stop at Wendy's that included me dissecting a Jr. Bacon Cheeseburger for dinner that Henry very kindly bought. We managed to find something to talk about from drinking and gambling and eating and all sorts of stuff. I will say one thing- five words- three hours of Slim Shady. It wasn't all bad though, I look at is as social experimentation, or something.
Always pack more and more diverse kinds of music, it is 8 hours after all. Learning curve-step #5

We arrive on site, after being totally confused by the directions, and I had deja vu of getting lost the last time I went to this site with my Bera for the last Crown that Michael won. Vaugely familiar and yet still feeling lost. sigh. Directions should be written assuming everyone is coming from out of town and from a major highway. no, Rt. 17 does not count. The locals can figure it out from the details written for the out of towners... oh well. We arrive on site, un scathed, in our original pieces, unload our personal stuff into cabins and sit and chill. I hear the saga that the poor folks who got down here early for set up had to go thru. Poor things, it did look like a totally awesome set up though, so you guys rock! We thought about getting dressed in garb, but the desire passed. Theo had blissfully sewn 2/3 of the bottom of the white wavy, and finally gave up. We hung out in our Not-the-Ritz-f'ing-Carlton cabin and chatted and I wove a last minute favor for Robert and then we all promtly crashed that happy tired of fighting the good fight, after much goodnights and chatting with the lights out until we died down and zonked.
It's all about the friends, that's the reason we do this is for the friends. Learning curve-step #6

Saturday, we are up bright and early, and there is a line to the showers. I, however, get up, look at the line, scowl, give Calli a hug, dis everyone else, and go back to bed. Get up later and have a no line shower and an internal struggle over what to wear. I brought 5 possible outfits for the three possible times I'd have to get dressed and didn't want to wear any of them. Dark colors standing in the sun bad, but they are lighter weight. Flannel, while white and reflective is warm. I decide on the dress I wore for last Crown. When I put it on, I think, I'll be hot in the 80F weather, but damn I'll look good. Then I see the pictures, and think, "Am I really that huge? How many ten pound cameras was I wearing?" Sigh, I try not to think about it, and head down to the field, very far away, glad for truck, very glad for truck, as it turns out, very glad for truck with 4WD, love the Scarlett. Note to self, trying to help push a truck out of the sand while wearing dress and pattens is stupid, find big boys and a shovel. Glad it wasn't my truck, or Alan's for that matter.

The procession went really well, I mean, I think that was the shortest time I had spent standing in the sun for one of these yet. And blissfully, I had an attendant of wonderful Lady Anne, who kept us watered, and held all the stuff they give out. Now, nobody I knows of carries a basket for the procession, so why give the consorts stuff to hold, that has to be held when there is no chance to dart back to the tent to unload it. Thankfully, Anne did! yay! Note to self, perhaps next time navy or black linen will feel cooler than white flannel... Then again, maybe it could stop being 80F or warmer for Crown Tourneys. I mean really, it is the first weekend in November, is that too much to ask? huh? is it? Is anyone listening? hello?...
Always plan on being too hot, you can always add layers if not. Learning curve-step #7

The fighting went really well, at least to this non-fighter and non-regular fighting watcher. Sir Robert, my champion, had to challege in for the first round, so he challenged Sir Kenneth and won that place in the tree. Then Robert drew Master Kevin, and they fought mightily and Robert won again. Now maybe I'm missing something here, but then he fought Sir Daemon, who got to choose the format and it was two sword, and Sir Robert fell to Daemon's sword work after a valiant effort. Next, Sir Robert faced Duke Logan, now Prince Logan, and the fight between these two of great sword went to Logan. I missed a bit after this but then paid attention back at the semifinals.

Vlad and Havorc faced each other in the semis, with Havorc the victor. Logan faced Mark d'Aubigney, after a long tough couple of bouts, Logan was the victor. The finals were between Logan and Havorc, the first round was polearm and the second was two weapon. Obviously, for those living under a mattress, Logan was the winner and our new Crown Prince and Princess, Prince Logan and Princess Isabel were crowned and cloaked on the field.
Note to self: folks need to learn that her name is Isabel, not Isabella as the heralds kept on calling her, poor thing. Bera got called Beena, Bora and Beera before they got hers right.

After the tourney, I packed up some stuff and with a splitting headache, possibly due to too much sun, I headed back to the cabin for a nice nap, and nap I did, cause I don't remember much beyond waking up and having only 30 mins to get ready for court. I was such a bum, threw my girlie G63 on, wore clogs and did something with my hair to make a veil vaguely stay on. Once again, I drove down to the field for court, where I sat with little Katie in the crowd. There were four Golden Dolphins made: Alesia, Robear's lady, who I swore had one way before me, Calli YAY!, Luisa O'Reilly, and Adeliza of Bristol, Rhi's girl! I was so happy for all of them, especially Calli, who was sooo overdue.
If you know you will be standing looking into the sun all day, just keep the advil on you. Learning curve- step #8

Immediately after court there was the breakdown. When I went and fetched Scarlett from the tree line I was very thankful for 4WD low where I just went thru the brush instead of around for time's sake. We got everything taken down, packed in, although not the best packing job in the world, eh it was at night, and we were rushed, and food was taunting us from the hall. Thank god for all the great help we had with packing down, don't know your names, but you helped more than you could possibly know. Then we just figured out seating for feast at high table, piece of cake, and found mugs for everyone, used all of the five mugs I packed, and sat down for one of the best feasts I have had in a long time. It rivalled the one at Coronation, but I think it was largely due to the seafood bisque. Oh my god!~

mini-rant- who comes to an event without a mug or drinking vessel of some kind??? Did I mention we used all of the mugs I packed and then still had to borrow one from Roland. Not that I mind, otherwise they were just sitting there, but still? /mini-rant.

Feast was superb, cooked by the fearsome foursome, wow! My dinner companions were lovely, sandwiched between Quentin and Anne, I had a blast. Finer and more amusing company could not be found. I stayed up talking to my Bera and Christian and then Brigit for a while after feast until we eventually saw that it was almost midnight so time to retire. A great evening to a hot and sticky day. And while I did enjoy myself, I wasn't terribly pleased at being left behind by all those folks who went to the hotel to party. I could have used alcohol too! Was I even missed? Did anyone notice I wasn't there? You all are supposed to be desolate without me? Why did you leave me behind? I would have taken my conversation with Chris and Bera into the A/C and drinking area. my friends' hate me.... oh well!
I still had a blast, regardless.

Sunday we packed up and left site and found a blissful breakfast buffett to last us the day. Mel and the Mute rode back most of the way together and I swapped Henry to Shane for Gina and Katie. We did some prelim planning for my wedding, and had a great time on the way back. After lunch(?) we switched and I gave Mel Gina so she'd have some conversation, and took The Mute, which Katie and Lauren and I ended up having a great time for the last 2.5 hours playing the letters on lisence plates game that Bob taught me.

we unloaded the trucks, sigh, repacked some stuff for Mel and Shane and went about our merry ways. This week finally ended when QPM came over on Monday night to help me load Scarlett with the Royal stuff to return it all to storage. I followed her to storage and all was happy and good. Thus ends our tale...

whew!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next