Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

lost in the shoe dept.
2001-10-30 - 5:18 p.m.

Ah, well, nothing terribly exciting going on other than Crown prep. I am a little disturbed at having to start getting stuff together tonight in order for a Friday trip, but that's how it goes.

So, last night was Jen's night on the phone, and it was definitely not on purpose.
First Mel called me in the middle of the 7pm Buffy on FX and chatted about Crown plans, travelling, loading the truck for her, etc. Yes, Alan is being overly generous and loaning his truck to Mel to drive down to Crown, since she has all day off on Friday, so that the tents get set up in the daylight, as opposed to when we will likely arrive which will be after 10pm. Love the Mel, she is so good for us. Which of course means that Alan gets to drive Scarlett for a few days and I'll drive Ruby. Why can't Alan and Mel simply switch trucks, well that would require that he knew how to drive a stick shift... tee hee hee... So after I got off the phone with Mel, I had to call Q about this weekend and acquiring stuff to take down for them since they are flying and poor Q is now currently out of town thanks to business. So after a long chat with Q, I had to call QPM, since she is actually in town, and I'll need to get their stuff from her for the driving down process and I needed to nag her about other Royal stuff stuff... So, I called Mel back real quick to let her know that all was well and we got it under control and to go watch Angel.
I thought I was done.
I thought, if I had the energy and desire, I'd get back up and put the phone on the hook since I won't need it for the rest of the evening.
Then Alan's parents called.
Why didn't Alan talk to them you ask, well simply because he wasn't there, working late, new carpet, gotta rearrange the stuff in his office, you get the gist. Now, I love Alan's parents, they are the sweetest most wonderful folks in the world, and not just because they brought Alan into the world, and I look forward to seeing them over Thanksgiving. But, Alan's mom makes me look like an amateur talker. I swear, I should thank the woman since she preconditioned Alan to my yammering on, but man oh man, I wonder how you guys can stand me most of the time. So, even after I have pulled the "Alan isn't here" card, they are still nice and we chat for a little, but this is slowly cutting into my Angel time, and I have the TV on mute, wondering what is going on, watching, and listening to the Smiths and waiting for the polite good-byes. sigh, too much phone.

See, now you guys are gonna find this funny, but I think I got all of my phone talking out of the way when I was in high school. I simply don't chat on the phone much at all. My phone bills are very low. Now I know that many of you are shocked to find this out, you imagined that as much as I talk in real life, my phone bills must be atrocious, well they're not. Of course this means that when I do run into a big phone talker, I fall into the uh huh, yep, wow, that's interesting... mode and honestly tune most of it out. Must have something to do with that I need to see folks faces when I talk to them. Then again maybe I was traumatized by my best friend in high school taking the phone into the potty with her and hearing the resounding tinkle noises thanks to the tile flooring... tinkle... tinkle...

So, I finally finished the top part of the wavy stripe, and I get to start on the ironing and the bottom bit of the wavy stripe tonight after I return Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone to Theo and get the next book, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. :) ohh.... I also have to run up to Columbia at some point and get royal stuff from the storage facility tonight. But the rest of the time I get to sew. That doesn't actually leave much extra time, now does it? pooh. I have all the pieces cut out for my new girlie G63, I just desperately need the time to serge them and put them together. Ah, time... I need a few more hours in a day, then again, if I had them, I just might use them for sleep. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..............


So, odd things that happened today. I ran by Target for a quick errand trip for Halloween candy and stuff since we will likely be home for the Trick-or-Treaters and if we are home, we should be prepared to hand out candy, or at least hide in the back room with all the lights out or something. So, I go to Target with a time budget, and at one point I look at the time and say, okay, 5 more mins. Well somehow almost half an hour slipped away when I was in the shoe dept. It's dangerous, a twisted space time warp, I swear, it didn't feel like half an hour. sigh. and I couldn't decide which pair of shoes to get so I got three pair. and yes, all three pair are black boots. sigh. I can't help it, I'm such a girl. There is a part of me that sighs and feels guilty for buying three pairs of black boots and there is the small part of me that is all giddy inside, three new pairs of black boots! I also got two new sweaters, and other random stuff like face paint for my halloween costume tomorrow. I wonder if you can guess what I'm gonna be that requires very little prep, nothing I need to make, and yet will be fun. and no, I won't be a damn ghost, although I thought about it... Target has my number and they keep calling saying, Hey Gen, we got some new shoes and sweaters and cute t-shirts and PPG stuff and you must come and buy it all, come on... sneaky little bastards.

also, you try explaining to Sir Christian over the phone how much fabric is needed for a sideless surcote for his wife and the different layouts for 45" wide vs. 60" wide and that the pattern he got is good for general look, but bad layout and wasteful use of fabric. 10 yards my ass. And weirdest thing of all, he got it. I clarified the six pieces, two big front and back and two smaller on each side, and the grain to grain and hypoteneuse of triangle to side of skirt bit, and he understood. It would have been better if I could have drawn him a picture, but he was enroute to the fabric store as we were speaking... I like Sir Christian, he's the man, or at the very least, one of them. And it doesn't hurt that he and my coolest older brother in law have the same first name. hee hee hee...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next