Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Take the stairs! Take the stairs! For God's sake, take the stairs!
2001-10-12 - 2:21 p.m.

eeevvviiilll!!!!!!!!!!!!
The vending machines were empty of both Diet Coke and Diet Pepsi this morning... need caffeine... I had to take the chirpy elevator up to the third floor to find a silly Coke machine that had cans instead of 20 oz. So not wanting to suffer from a deficit, since I am running low on sleep anyway, I had 24 ounces total instead of 20. oh well. Caffeine and protien are your friends.

I do feel the need to defend myself here, I almost always take the stairs. (Maybe it's from seeing a bad B movie in highschool called something like the Lift, with the tag line "Take the stairs! Take the stairs! For God's sake, take the stairs!" I remember nothing of the plot, not shockingly enough. But it was the same night we watched Hell Comes to Frogtown.) So, I usually take the stairs, unless I have a really damn good reason such as uncomfortable shoes on or my knee is bugging me, or I'm carrying something reasonably heavy. So my excuse for the three times I have rode of the elevator today is that the stairs are not clear. I swear, it sounds stupid, I mean how hard could it be to figure out the stairs, right? Well, the main stairwell goes from the basement to the second level, but stops there. There is obviously a third level since you can get there via elevator, but you have to change to a different stairwell midway. It's all about stupid. So shaking like crack-whore in need of a pick me up, I climb into the chirping elevator and find that other machine upstairs and grab me some nectar. I guess I could have taken the elevator this afternoon to get the lunch time soda, but by then the habit was engrained. or something... I luckily ran into the soda guy and asked if he did the machine in the basement too. I then told him it was completely out of DC, and I think he could see the jonesing in my eyes. He apologized and I have faith that I can grab another lovely caffeine delivery system on my way out in an hour.

Gotta run from work early to pack the truck, pack my stuff, try to resist a nap, and get on the road up to the Crusades site with some vain hope of getting the dayshade up before dark. I did admit that it was vain hope, didn't I? Oh well, that's what headlights are for. :(

Like a fool I was up until 3am last night, you guessed it, sewing. My groovy sideless is almost done, just a bit of the hem left. My hand was shaking when I finally went to bed and I kept on stabbing myself with the needle which is always a bad sign and harbringer of poor technique to follow. I feel like a let down, but I know it's just that I take too long and am really slow and meticulous at handsewing so I didn't even start on the wavy stripe. I knew if I started it would be crossing the point of no return, and it was already 3am. I'm actually rather impressed with myself to have that deductive reasoning at 3am, come to think of it. so, it is still pinned in place, easy to unpin if it doesn't get started, or sew it on real fast if I/we get inspired. Theo has offered to sew it on tonight while on site, since she is lightening fast with a needle, hem of a ten gore in one hour kind of fast. Me, it may take several hours, but damn it looks good! :) sigh. I also need to finish a bit of the decorative stitching I started on my viking apron. Having half a seam decorated will look even weirder than having the back seams decorated and the front seams left plain. I am such a work in progress, I don't think I'll ever be finished unless I'm dead.

40 minutes and counting....

So, I finally finished listening to Harry Potter and the Prisnor of Azkaban on Wed, and returned the CD's to Theo. Damn good book. I laughed for at least five minutes about the faboo ending... I haven't read anymore in the first book, but then again, all free time has been spent sewing, or reeling from the effects...

39 minutes and counting...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next