Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

no, really, I wasn't kidding, is it friday yet?
2001-10-04 - 2:39 p.m.

Ack, my neck is stiff. I had been doing really well, hadn't taken a dose of Vit-I since my trip last weekend. My mom gave me some samples of Vioxx, a nice little super motrin that is once a day and non-narcotic. This stuff rocks. I think I need to make an appointment and get an RX for it. Lately I've been taking 800mg of Ibuprofen for breakfast, lunch and dinner, or roughly two to three times a day. Not too long ago, I took half a remaining flexeril before bed to get to sleep. Since the introduction of Vioxx, no Vit-I until today. Wow, almost three pain-free days. sigh. stiff neck. better living thru chemistry...

Despite the fact that I talk a really good game, I am terrible with confrontation. Must have been my upbringing, we were a great family, but we just didn't talk about things, and were very avoidant of confrontation. Justly so, now I try to avoid confrontation. Ask my poor Bera who taught me so much. "I'm not going to talk to you right now because if I talk now I will yell and you will not hear me." The main thing is that an enabler to my avoidance of confrontation is that I don't like to just go off on someone. I want to be all calm and rational when I confront someone. Sadly, these things don't usually go hand in hand, as a matter of fact, they are often mutually exclusive. I love my Alan, why can't everyone be as easy to talk to as he is? I'm still learning. I'm still trying to not bottle up my feelings, trying to focus everything into positive energy. yeah, that's it. If anyone has any helpful pointers, I'm all ears... well, I do have legs, arms, feet, hands, hair, etc... but you get my drift.

Mel and Laura would have been so upset. They mixed mushrooms in with the lettuce mix at the salad bar in the cafeteria upstairs. Personally I love it, but I understand that others have various fungus issues. Luckily neither of them work here.

So, the play last night was faboo, Theo wrote up an excellent account of the Oedipus plays from last night, scroll down through the affair stuff. I agree that Avery Brooks was awesome, and the actress who played Antigone was superb. What I really loved was the musical accompaniment, dancing and costumes. It's no secret, I love costumes. They are often my favorite parts of plays. This may be why I got into the SCA in the first place. Mom tried to convince me to go into Theatrical design, but I told her nope since I if I sewed them for a living I'd never love my hobby. Besides I'm too much of a perfectionist for theater costuming. For example, the zipper in the back of one of the dresses kinda bugged me last night. But, on the whole, the costuming was fabulous. They really got the African tribal feel, dressing the Chorus all alike, but changing their costumes for the diff't place to convey the passage of time and miles. The lead characters were fabulous. The only thing that bugged me, zippers aside, was the faux leather chaps or something on the Colonus guards. But it worked with the Colonus Chorus so it was okay, just a little odd. I must say that I absolutely loved Ismene's clothes. Both the airy chiffon number and the lovely great coat of the faboo red and gold pattern. I dig the turbans too. So, the play was great, and so were the costumes. Props to Toni-Leslie James, the Costume Designer. sigh, sometimes I am too focused.

Random quote from Rags during IM today:
By the way, between Laura and the tuxedo shirt and panties, you and the black lace bra, and Kimmie Kim and the navy guys kissing her boots what the hell is going on?
My reponse was "eh, must be October, I guess..."
Let's keep them wondering Girls!

So, I apologize up front but I will be skipping Last Chance tonight in hopes that I can get some work done on a bunch of my projects. I hope to get a slew of stuff to the hand sewing stage for the long drives in my future. I can only read so much while the car is moving.

Happily I still have enough of the MoAS training hadnouts so I don't need to make more, but I do need to make handouts for my hand sewing class and make up some try it packets and a few more samples. I'll get to skip buttons and buttonholes since Mistress Clare is covering those in a class, undoubtedly better than I could. Ask Kymber, my button making technique is flawed.
Ugh, too much to do... :)

wish me luck!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next