Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Dysfunction and my weekend
2001-10-02 - 5:39 p.m.

So, I switched the Calendar to October, yay! The work calendar that I have is from Despair.com a wonderful demotivator for the year. October is particularly nice.


The Only Consistent Feature of All of Your Dissatisfying Relationships is You

I know these people. When they say "It's not you, it's me..." they mean it.

Thanks to another one of my e-mail lists, this person posted their costume page, which is, uh, interesting. Teddy as far as I can tell from the list is a great person, with lots of flair and character. Oh baby, he's got tons of character. While most of the outfits are great in execution, the Custard Tart is disturbing to my sensibilities. But since I passed Peter Pan onto you, I can't help but share this which is mild in comparison. I swear, much like Theo, this shit finds me, I don't go looking for it. I swear.

So, I have a busy week coming up, tonight is the two hour Buffy Premiere, which I am very much looking forward too. I just hope I can muster up some hand sewing to do in front of the TV so it isn't complete wasted time. I also hope to make it to the Chiropractor tonight, which I should have done last night, but was in such a pissy mood, I didn't. If I have time and am so motivated, I may run by Theo's planning meeting, but if I don't make it she has promised not to hate me, and I might not be great company anyway. Tomorrow is our play, a compilation of the Oedipus plays. This promises to be good, if long. Essentially, it is a bit of culture that will be a nice break from the SCA life, but I have so much to do, I just hope that I can focus on the play and not obsess about what is left at home to do. And this will undoubtedly take the entire evening. No coming home after the play to sew some, that would be stupid. I think I will likely be skipping LC on Thursday night since I need to prepare my class notes and some samples for one of my UofA classes. I should also put together some small serged pieces with needle and thread so that folks can try it out during the class. Not having it hands on would just be mean. Luckily I will have the long drive down, which I hope to make Alan and Bob do most of the driving so I can hand sew samples, and other projects all the way down and back.

Of course, thanks to a conversation with a friend, I realized that even if I get these sideless surcoats done for Crusades, I don't have anything appropriate to wear underneath it. I wonder if I could make up a cotehardie between now and then? I could try to take in the one I made for my venus underdress, but I'd need to make a slip since it's a bit fine of a white linen. fuss fuss fuss...

so, you see, my stress level is not really decreasing any at all. Hopefully by Crown I will have finished all my current projects, since they are all due by then. So, only one more month of insanity? yeah, that sounds about right. Sadly, I don't think I'll have time to make up a nice, fun Halloween costume for the work party, and will either have to cheat and wear garb, or wear my bat t-shirt. I definately won't be able to do anything with the group unless the pieces can all be purchased. :( Pity, I love halloween and using SCA clothes are just cheating to me.

Um, this weekend. Yes, this weekend was my grandfather's memorial service in Galesville, Wisconsin. I hopped on a commuter flight from BWI to Philly and got on a big plane from Philly to MSP. From there, I took the shuttle to Enterprise RentaCar and drove to Rochester, MN. Repeat steps in reverse for return trip home, only make me have to get up at 5am to make it to the rental drop off place and to the airport in time. All in all it was not a bad trip. Nice relatively smooth flights, except the last 20 mins of the return flight, low altitude, more turbulence, blah blah blah. I did get some hand sewing done, they didn't confiscate my needles and I precut strands of thread and when done used my teeth to cut the thread off. I also finally finished reading Emma and am half way thru Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Yes, I'm actually reading the book, MEL! One main bummer about the trip was that none of my cousins could make it. I was really looking forward to seeing them again, but oh well. My oldest cousin Robin had a flight scheduled with her husband, but AirTran cancelled it on them, bastards. the others couldn't afford a flight over from the West Coast.

Upon arrival, I had a lovely drive out into the country of MN, nice big sky, blue as can be, lovely scenery, and I saw an entire herd of Belted Galloway cows. Of course these were real cow sized, which the previous ones I had seen weren't. My big Bro-in-law's dad's second wife had three little pet Belted Galloway cows, which was a little odd in and of itself. They also had a pet mexican burro to look after them. Try not to think about it too hard. But needless to say these tiny little pet cows were the only "Belties" that I had seen, so seeing an entire herd of them, especially big ones, was quite interesting. No, really it was. why don't you believe me?

So, when I arrived at the hotel, I met up with my mom, dad, and my coolest ever uncle and aunt. Ask Kevin and Laura, they rock. So we went out to dinner with one of my grandmother's sisters and her husband, which was very nice. I hadn't seen Niles and Naomi in a long time, they used to live in the mountains of VA, near Wintergreen, cool folks.

Saturday was the memorial service. I will say this. It was actually really nice having it so removed from the actual date of my grandfather's passing that we could focus on his life and the impromptu family reunion that erupted. I love my grandfather, and miss him very much, but he is happier where he is no doubt. Golfing the white clouds in the sky without a care in the world. Just don't drop a long drive on my head down here Gramps. :) Also, as small as my immediate family is with only three cousins, my second cousins are quite numerous. My grandfather had a brother who had two kids and they had kids. My grandmother had four sisters and two brothers, all of which got married and had kids who got married and had kids. Needless to say, I had a bunch of second cousins and first cousins, once removed to re-meet. I say re-meet because when I saw them all I said, "Nice to meet you" and they expounded on how we had met before but I was just a little one... blah blah blah... After the service and reception at the church, many of us headed back to Rochester and had a dinner gathering at my great aunt Juliet's place. (She's little Trinity Juliet's namesake.) It was great to sort of flit about the party and sit and chat with several folks from all around on many different topics.

Interesting tidbits of my extended family that I got to find out:

Rest easy Grampa.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next